Ultra Beatdown

Universal Music B.V.
Release date
25 Aug 2008
Running length
8 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Heroes of Our Time 7:14 91,173
2 The Fire Still Burns 7:51 54,206
3 Reasons to Live 6:26 44,983
4 Heartbreak Armageddon 7:42 43,597
5 The Last Journey Home 8:13 46,147
6 A Flame for Freedom 5:20 39,655
7 Inside the Winter Storm 8:12 42,751
8 The Warrior Inside 7:15 38,078

About this album


Every year there are albums eagerly anticipated, be it from hot young names, established legends or – and this is usually the most exciting of all the categories – those bands you know are on the verge of greatness.
As DragonForce, the multi-national talent based in London – prepare to release their fourth album, nobody who understands the world of metal can have any doubt that ‘Ultra Beatdown’ (as the record is to be called) is most certainly being awaited with a real sense that we are about to witness a band going from being ‘potential international stars’ to becoming a ‘major global phenomenon’.

“Every album is different for us,” says guitarist Herman Li. “We never want to repeat what’s done before. And that makes each record we do that little bit more difficult. On this one, we rejected so much because it was going over old ground. We’d heard it before. We’re not a band who get stuck with a formula and are just content to repeat the same thing over and over again.”

‘Ultra Beatdown’ has three hard acts to follow. If ‘Valley Of The Damned’ established the sextet’s fearless credentials in 2003, then ‘Sonic Firestorm’ (’04) and ‘Inhuman Rampage’ (’06) each took them further forward. In fact, the last named has now sold in excess of 300,000 copies in America alone (and half a million worldwide), spawning the Gold single ‘Through The Fire And Flames’, thereby giving DragonForce the cachet of being the most successful new British metal act in America for two decades!

Other releases

Listening Trend

98,799listeners all time
1,756,007scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to Last.fm or sign up.
  • Balgerda

    The best songs are bonus – lol – followed by Heartbreak Armageddon and The Last Journey Home.

    2 Feb 4:17am Reply
  • versionfiv

    this is like Kalmah - For The Revolution to me, in that it's the bands second best album yet gets all kinds of undeserved negative feedback.

    4 Oct 2013 Reply
  • hammerstrikebg

    Heartbreak Armageddon is the best song off the album, can't really understand why it is hated so much.

    14 Aug 2013 Reply
  • rok2slayr

    Their best.

    6 Aug 2012 Reply
  • Fuadz--alwayZ--

    great music

    28 Jun 2012 Reply
  • lucas0072011

    Esse com certeza é o melhor álbum da banda!!! DRAGONFORCE RULES!!!!!

    1 Oct 2011 Reply
  • erikeverhard

    this album is their worst because of heartbreak armageddon and flame for freedom. Their other albums don't have a single bad song

    18 Aug 2011 Reply
  • Yhavimoth


    31 Jul 2011 Reply
  • DanielSSHL

    Easily their worst album. Hope the new singer can pump some new blood into them :)

    12 Apr 2011 Reply
  • rnmatkov

    The best of the album are the 3 bonus tracks

    20 Mar 2011 Reply
  • ForBigMistakes

    Best album.

    17 Mar 2011 Reply
  • versionfiv

    seriously this album puts 90% of their stuff to shame.

    3 Mar 2011 Reply
  • RoyalFur

    Best Album.

    27 Jan 2011 Reply
  • Darmer_91

    underrated? -lol

    5 Jan 2011 Reply
  • Metallimaster

    Really fucking good, fuck the haters.

    2 Oct 2010 Reply
  • erikeverhard

    verse sounds like Luca Turilli's "ancient forest of elves", also Heroes of our time intro sounds like Legends of steel intro! :P

    30 Jul 2010 Reply
  • Idiots-Rule

    Great album. Haven't really listened too much to their others, but this one is great. I like the bonus tracks as well. "Scars of Yesterday" is better than many of the standard songs.

    30 Jun 2010 Reply
  • XRiSTO-

    Megadieftw think that a album is underrated when it almost have 1 milion plays. (923,251 plays)

    18 Jun 2010 Reply
  • Colony666

    lol @ CLoud_ZER0 and Giga-man, first 2 albums were great, after that...meh

    10 Jun 2010 Reply
  • Megadieftw

    This is so underated.

    29 May 2010 Reply
  • All 91 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners