Cats Without Claws

Release date
13 Nov 2000
Running length
10 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Supernatural Love 3:34 2,960
2 It's Not the Way 4:24 380
3 There Goes My Baby 4:04 3,242
4 Suzanna 4:29 451
5 Cats Without Claws 4:24 395
6 Oh Billy Please 4:55 334
7 Eyes 4:47 382
8 Maybe It's Over 4:40 353
9 I'm Free 4:31 357
10 Forgive Me 4:35 499

About this album

Cats Without Claws is an album released by Donna Summer in 1984. Summer had achieved monumental fame during the disco era of the 1970s, and by now was signed to Geffen Records. She had had some degree of success with them, though her previous album had been released on another label.

That previous album, She Works Hard for the Money, had been her most successful since the disco era, and as a result, its producer Michael Omartian was asked to produce the new album as well. Again the majority of tracks were written by Summer and Omartian, though a couple of other writers were credited including Summer’s husband Bruce Sudano. As with the previous album, Cats Without Claws was pop/dance oriented but included soulful ballads. The album also contained a cover of “There Goes My Baby”, originally made popular by The Drifters, which became the first single. A gospel song written by Reba Rambo and Dony McGuire entitled “Forgive Me” would win Summer a Grammy award for Best Inspirational Performance.

Cats Without Claws did not follow the success of its predecessor, reaching only Number 40 on the U.S. album chart. It produced four singles - the aforementioned “There Goes My Baby”, “Supernatural Love” (also released as a 12” Disco Single), the title track and “Eyes”. Of these, only the first had reasonable success, just missing the U.S. Top 20. Further 12” dance remixes included “Eyes” and “I’m Free”.

Other releases

Listening Trend

876listeners all time
14,619scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • tylerc904

    Since getting the boxset, this has become a favorite. I loved her collaborations with Omartian (SWHFTM is also a killer album). Eyes and Oh Billy Please are total revelations and among her best 80's tracks.

    14 Jan 5:07am Reply
  • UnfortunatelyGr

    This is a lot better than the chart figures suggest. It's probably a better album than the hit previous one, being that bit darker and more mysterious.

    15 Sep 2013 Reply
  • wvhank

    I LOVE this album for two reasons; "There Goes My Baby", which once I heard it was sure it would be another #1 for her because it is such a great version of the oldie AND she probably has never sounded so raw emotionally & "I'm Free". The album unfortunately didn't sell well but I still love it. She's had so much GREAT music go unrecognized by the public. A real shame.

    17 May 2013 Reply
  • discotequedude

    The "Cats Without Claws" album is an excellent album!

    12 Nov 2012 Reply
  • pedrinho13

    Amo demais esse album!!!!

    23 Apr 2010 Reply
  • otsiningopark

    This album is just amazing!

    30 Dec 2009 Reply

Top Listeners