Plague Mass

Release date
22 Apr 1991
Running length
14 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Were You a Witness (I) 2:33 335
2 Were You a Witness (II) 4:10 283
3 Were You a Witness (III) 6:30 253
4 This Is the Law of the Plague 11:45 3,025
5 I Wake Up and I See the Face of the Devil (I) 3:43 827
6 I Wake Up and I See the Face of the Devil (II) 2:16 741
7 Confessional 4:17 1,506
8 How Shall Our Judgement Be Carried Out Upon the Wicked 8:37 1,573
9 Let Us Praise the Masters of Slow Death 5:54 2,623
10 Consecration 3:44 2,621
11 Sono L'Antichristo 3:13 5,347
12 Cris D'Aveugle (Blind Man's Cry) 10:02 316
13 Let My People Go 3:21 13,978
14 There Are No More Tickets to the Funeral 1:27 2,209

About this album

Her work first garnered widespread attention with the controversial 1991 live recording of the album Plague Mass (1984 - End of the Epidemic) in the Cathedral of Saint John the Divine in New York. With it, Galás attacked the Roman Catholic Church (and society in general) for its indifference to AIDS using biblical texts. In the words of Terrorizer Magazine, “The church was made to burn with sound, not fire.”[1]. Plague Mass was a live rendition of excerpts from her Masque Of The Red Death trilogy which began as a response/homage/indictment to the effects of AIDS upon the “silent class”. After production of the trilogy’s first volume began, Galás’ brother, playwright Philip-Dimitri Galás, contracted HIV. It is important to note that Galás did not begin this work due to her brother’s illness; however, this tragic situation inspired the artist to re-double her efforts, resulting in the development of the aforementioned performance. During the period of these recordings, Galás had we are all HIV+ tattooed upon her knuckles; an artistic expression of disillusionment and disgust with the ignorance and apathy surrounding the AIDS epidemic. Her brother, who died during the trilogy’s final production, reportedly appreciated her efforts.

Plague Mass
1984 - End of the Epidemic
April 22, 1991
UK 2xLP/CD Mute STUMM 83
US 2xLP Mute/Elektra 61043


There Are No More Tickets to the Funeral
This Is The Law of the Plague
I Wake Up and I See the Face of The Devil
Confessional (Give Me Sodomy or Give Me Death)
How Shall Our Judgement Be Carried Out Upon the Wicked?
Let Us Praise the Masters of Slow Death

Other releases

Listening Trend

7,649listeners all time
62,819scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • LeCoinNawak

    ...insane(ly good)

    3 Apr 2014 Reply
  • shitscud

    I don't think her point with this was to be soulful, considerate, whatever. It's meant to be the exact opposite: this shuddering mass of terror, contempt and mockery for everything that embodies true hypocrisy. A primal scream.

    20 Mar 2013 Reply
  • Batabid

    Lacked soul? are you kidding? haha! This is the most heart wrenching album I have ever heard, and HERS too. It is her magnum opus, a masterpiece in history. Case closed, casket dropped.

    13 Aug 2011 Reply
  • Lazarusrising

    horrible sound quality -_-

    12 Sep 2010 Reply
  • Cocteauholic

    @ MegatonShot, Oh you think so? well the only shit here is a someone with taste like yours is visting this page, this is not your place hun, go listen to some U2 shit.

    19 May 2010 Reply
  • pechorkinname


    9 Feb 2010 Reply
  • billiblixa

    Voice over all spheres.....wonderful

    17 Sep 2009 Reply
  • cannibalroses

    HAS to be played all the way through without stopping to get the full experience. So atmospheric and eerie and Diamanda's shrieks played at max volume are just head splitting.

    13 Feb 2009 Reply

Top Listeners