Halcyon Digest

Release date
1 Jan 2010
Running length
11 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Earthquake 5:00 135,585
2 Don’t Cry 2:49 52,373
3 Revival 2:13 187,565
4 Sailing 5:00 120,570
5 Memory Boy 2:09 126,454
6 Desire Lines 6:42 160,027
7 Basement Scene 3:41 112,737
8 Helicopter 4:57 163,244
9 Fountain Stairs 2:37 109,740
10 Coronado 3:18 115,593
11 He Would Have Laughed 7:30 110,167

About this album

Halcyon Digest is the fourth studio album by American indie rock band Deerhunter. It was released September 28, 2010 to very enthusiastic reviews. It was the band’s first album distributed exclusively by 4AD worldwide (previously 4AD only handled overseas distribution while Kranky Records handled it within the U.S) The album was self-produced with assistance from Ben Allen and was recorded at Chase Park Transduction studios in Athens, Georgia. The final track, “He Would Have Laughed” was recorded separately by Bradford Cox at Notown Sound in Marietta, GA and is a tribute to the late Jay Reatard.

Writing on his Facebook profile page, Cox stated “The album’s title is a reference to a collection of fond memories and even invented ones, like my friendship with Ricky Wilson or the fact that I live in an abandoned victorian autoharp factory. The way that we write and rewrite and edit our memories to be a digest version of what we want to remember, and how that’s kind of sad.”

Answering the Q magazine question as to whether the album was “…supposed to sound like a newsletter or bulletin board from somewhere mysterious”, Bradford Cox said: “It’s supposed to be like a collection of short dispatches”. He called the use of the word ‘Halcyon’ misleading, adding: “It has a lot to do with the way people romanticise the past, even if it was horrific.”

The album artwork was provided by renowned Atlanta photographer George Mitchell. Deerhunter drummer, Moses Archuleta, initially suggested a “stark black and white theme” with Cox ultimately selecting Mitchell’s photograph because “it had an immediate connection to the music, especially songs like ‘Basement Scene’.

Other releases

Listening Trend

250,704listeners all time
8,097,263scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to Last.fm or sign up.
  • Cogosho

    Their best. [3]

    16 Dec 2014 Reply
  • niqart

    Their best. [2]

    11 Nov 2014 Reply
  • opgay


    25 Sep 2014 Reply
  • myimaginaryline

    I can't stop listening to the whole thing. It's magical.

    14 Nov 2013 Reply
  • anw_p

    the best

    26 Aug 2013 Reply
  • elrecienllegado

    so good musicccccccccccccccccccccccccccccc x_______________x

    3 Aug 2013 Reply
  • Bixbycanyon

    My favorite definitely. Microcastle is a close second.

    27 May 2013 Reply
  • traytray89

    I do approve!

    18 Apr 2013 Reply
  • what_happened

    their best alongside all of their other stuff

    7 Apr 2013 Reply
  • helldriverZJ

    Their worst,very boring album

    26 Jan 2013 Reply
  • raffy_rillo

    Sounds good. Creepy album cover.

    25 Jan 2013 Reply
  • matt1337c

    I can't believe I've forgotten how amazing this album is. Best album of 2010 for sure. I love how it sounds like frolicking jangle-pop but it has the classic Deerhunter tinge of darkness and introversion.

    15 Nov 2012 Reply
  • blueunicorns

    Their best.

    24 Oct 2012 Reply
  • ImCaio

    Great album, although the first track is misleading. I agree it doesn't have the greatest flow, but is still one of my favorite albums. If anyone can recommend any albums that sound the same style as the first song on this album, Earthquake, that'd be real cool

    13 Sep 2012 Reply
  • rOOm-on-fire

    Mouais. De bons passages mais trop léger parfois, trop "sous influences".

    12 Sep 2012 Reply
  • joplinpicasso

    "There is no better album for fall." I had this EXACT thought in my head today.

    9 Sep 2012 Reply
  • jackw386

    There is no better album for fall.

    8 Sep 2012 Reply
  • Letterbomber

    best album of the decade so far

    6 Sep 2012 Reply
  • electrobaboon

    Helicopter and Desire Lines are probably the two best Deerhunter tracks. This album doesn't really flow that well though, despite having some insanely good songs.

    25 Jul 2012 Reply
  • ozzmo

    Fantastic album, satisfaction throughout. I can't say is this better than microcastle, both albums (and Parallax) are #1 on my favourite list atm.

    6 Feb 2012 Reply
  • All 92 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners