The Sound of Perseverance

Nuclear Blast
Release date
1 Jan 2007
Running length
9 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Scavenger of Human Sorrow 6:52 89,386
2 Bite the Pain 4:29 81,893
3 Spirit Crusher 6:44 92,348
4 Story To Tell 6:34 73,265
5 Flesh and the Power It Holds 8:25 74,228
6 Voice of the Soul 3:43 96,350
7 To Forgive Is To Suffer 5:53 67,609
8 A Moment Of Claritiy 7:20 1,256
9 Painkiller 6:03 72,938

About this album

The Sound of Perseverance is the seventh and final album by American death metal band Death. The album was released on September 15, 1998 through Nuclear Blast.

The album, in particular, employs a style more akin to progressive metal than the earliest Death releases, although since Human and the albums following it, the band had been developing more toward this style. The average song length on this album is around six minutes. Also, it was a breakthrough album for drummer and later radio star Richard Christy, a fan favorite, in the tradition of previous drummers like Gene Hoglan and Sean Reinert.

The album features the rare “Voice of the Soul”, an extremely melancholic instrumental track that contrasts with every other work of the band. Death has produced only two instrumentals (the other being the considerably heavier “Cosmic Sea” from Human). The album also featured an acclaimed cover of Judas Priest’s “Painkiller”, which shows Schuldiner pushing the boundaries of his voice with a mix of his own vocals and Rob Halford’s, also singing for the first time with a clean voice through the end of the song.

It is rumored that some of the song names and music on The Sound of Perseverance were originally going to appear on the first Control Denied album. Schuldiner himself denied this in an interview with Metal Maniacs in 1998 by saying that none of his compositions for Control Denied had been used to fill space for a Death album. When Death was signed on to Nuclear Blast, Schuldiner agreed to make one last Death album before moving forward with Control Denied.

“Spirit Crusher” was the single from this album. It featured a music video that was shot live.

Other releases

Listening Trend

142,780listeners all time
3,506,037scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Russian_Wolf

    офигенный альбом!

    9 Jul 6:05pm Reply
  • Philospheros

    I love every note of this masterpiece, Chucks greatest work, the tone is razor sharp, deep and seasoned, vocals crush and kill, every sound has a story to tell and it holds power of the soul. This album can be undeerstood by those who can, or ommitted by those, who have no sight.

    6 Jul 1:51am Reply
  • Edengeist

    Definitely does not stand the test of time. I can't even go through one song anymore without getting terribly annoyed by the guitar tone and terrible songwriting.

    12 Jun 11:06am Reply
  • Glauco_Silva

    Boring as fuck.

    16 May 7:49am Reply
  • VlaicuLiviu

    it is A Moment Of Clarity not A Moment Of Claritiy

    22 Apr 3:38pm Reply
  • Flynner11

    This album is absolutely amazing.

    4 Feb 9:42pm Reply
  • petikee69

    Masterpiece *.*

    3 Jan 1:01pm Reply
  • froody1911

    "power metal wankery" fucking where? As for the vocals, they're undoubtedly the best shrieks ever outside of black metal.

    19 Dec 2013 Reply
  • PlzDontBan

    looooooooooooooool @ sub par songwriting with half the artists you have in your library

    9 Dec 2013 Reply
  • pedromoraes95


    29 Nov 2013 Reply
  • mk741

    I used to enjoy this album, but the shrieking vocals, the tinny guitar-tone, sub-par songwriting, and power metal wankery makes listening to this album now just a grating experience.

    10 Nov 2013 Reply
  • ThrashOfGod

    Brilliant !!!

    4 Nov 2013 Reply
  • ArianaSpoiler


    18 Oct 2013 Reply
  • Metal-Zombie

    Perfect death-metal

    16 Oct 2013 Reply
  • mephistoeles

    The more you listen to Death you will realize this isn't their best, by far. It's, I think, their least impressive effort, it is a damn good album, it is good, good, good, good, so good, but not quite there. Apart from their first two gore-oriented albums, this is the weakest, it just feel unfinished.

    27 Jun 2013 Reply
  • GnomeTiky

    Everything Chuck did is superb.

    13 Jun 2013 Reply
  • rOnieAirhead

    Goddamn masterpiece.

    20 May 2013 Reply
  • landofdeath

    best albums of the band

    14 Apr 2013 Reply
  • Jose_Maiden95

    I love this piece of art, as well as I love every Death album... They're all different, special and excellent for sure. I can't understand why some people hate this album...

    2 Apr 2013 Reply
  • Elturtle

    Too prog,not enough DM for me.

    1 Apr 2013 Reply
  • All 389 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners