Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Helsingborg, Sweden (1998 – present)

Darkane (formerly known as Agretator) is a melodic death / thrash metal band formed in Helsingborg, Sweden in 1998. The name Darkane is a portmanteau of the words “dark” and “arcane”.

The first album featured Lawrence Mackrory, who had a much more death metal influenced voice. After 1998’s Rusted Angel, Andreas Sydow was recruited, and handled vocals on the next three albums, Insanity, Expanding Senses, and Layers of Lies. He decided to leave the band in 2007 and Jens Broman (Construcdead, The Defaced) took his place for Demonic Art.

The current lineup consists of Christofer Malmström (guitar], Peter Wildoer (drums), Klas Ideberg (guitar), Jörgen Löfberg (bass) and Lawrence Mackrory (vocals).

Their sixth studio album entitled The Sinister expected to be released in July 2013.

For more information, visit


Top Albums

Listening Trend

64,525listeners all time
1,342,576scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Infinite_Impact

    Indeed. Sydow was so fucking energetic. Also none of the music after he left really impressed me as much as Layers of Lies, especially Secondary Effects which is a pure and soaring anthem. One of the catchiest songs and choruses ever.

    12 May 9:38pm Reply
  • Worm-Infested

    mackrory is good but sydow was nuts. i miss him.

    18 Mar 12:15am Reply
  • Jackjss

    The Sinister Supremacy is great :D

    22 Jul 2014 Reply
  • Josefonic

    New album is amazing! Growl and harsh and clean vocals are great, drums and guitars are also as always epic! \\m/ DARKANE NEVER DISAPPOINTS ME!!!

    23 May 2014 Reply
  • monkey-ronin

    you remember what happened when Hetfield thought he could sing....end of good Metallica. Clean vocals on this are too much in that vein. I agree with other posts, this is weakened by the clean vocals, makes it seem too commercial or too mehcore. Shame, I like the riffage and progressions.

    18 Feb 2014 Reply
  • ManOfMuchMetal

    I awarded 'The Sinister Supremacy' a spot in my Top 20 for 2013. Here's why I love it:

    23 Jan 2014 Reply
  • Dyeldrummer

    Soooooooo fuckin' awesome!!!!!! HOLY SHIT!!!!!

    20 Dec 2013 Reply
  • liveinflames

    What the fuck is with the complaints about vocals? This album fuckinc rules. So much awesome riffing. I love the vocals as well. Above all the awesome guitar and drum work there are even catchy choruses.

    18 Oct 2013 Reply
  • Riktenkay

    The Hetfield similarities are there but they are few and far between. I'm hearing much more of a Jon Howard / Chester Bennington thing going on I'm afraid. The harsh vocals are great though, no complaints there. And musically it's just pure awesomeness.

    27 Sep 2013 Reply
  • StrAzzA_666

    I DO NOT see any similarities on his voice to hetfield's xD ...nevertheless Darkane kicks ass !!

    13 Aug 2013 Reply
  • Lost_Souls_UK

    The Hetfield thing was my first wince, but I can forgive Darkane, and will try again.

    26 Jul 2013 Reply
  • Riktenkay

    I can also see why Threat Signal were mentioned, some of the vocals do sound a lot like Jon Howard. Unfortunately I don't consider that a good thing.

    20 Jul 2013 Reply
  • Riktenkay

    The vocals ruin the new album for me :( I see I'm not the only one who thought they sounded a bit like Hetfield at times. Definitely don't agree that they could use purely clean vocals though, purely harsh vocals would be far better :P

    20 Jul 2013 Reply
  • soullessmate

    brilliant, loving it

    16 Jul 2013 Reply
  • psyket

    Wonderful album, i would say that this is a perfect combination of 3 bands. Trivium, Threat Signal and Slayer. :)

    10 Jul 2013 Reply
  • z-la

    new album is brilliant. perfect modern thrash metal!

    5 Jul 2013 Reply
  • Heikken

    Great songs on the new album. Lawrence sounds insane and the production is killer!

    2 Jul 2013 Reply
  • pestcommando

    very good new effort!

    26 Jun 2013 Reply
  • FlorioWork

    new album is best since the first 3.

    24 Jun 2013 Reply
  • lordgorefreak

    new album is pretty impressive!!!!

    21 Jun 2013 Reply
  • All 346 shouts

Top Listeners