Century Media
Release date
20 Apr 2007
Running length
10 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Nothing to No One 4:10 80,085
2 The Lesser Faith 4:37 78,884
3 Terminus (where Death Is Most Alive) 4:24 79,733
4 Blind at Heart 4:21 70,655
5 Icipher 4:39 70,565
6 Inside the Particle Storm 5:29 65,936
7 Empty Me 4:59 64,084
8 Misery's Crown 4:14 82,453
9 Focus Shift 3:37 76,659
10 The Mundane and the Magic 5:17 69,382

About this album

Fiction is the eighth studio album by the Swedish melodic death metal band, Dark Tranquillity.

The earliest release date for the album was set for North America on April 17, 2007.

This is the last new material to feature Michael Nicklasson as their bassist before leaving in August 2008.

This album marked a few returns of previous quirks the band had done in the past - the song “Inside the Particle Storm” marks the return of Sundin writing lyrics again since “Tongues” from The Mind’s I , Mikael Stanne utilizes clean vocals in addition to his usual growled vocals on “Misery’s Crown” since “In Sight” from Haven (Reissue) and a guest female vocalist on “The Mundane and the Magic” since “Undo Control” from Projector.

A limited edition of the album includes a bonus DVD with live songs, behind the scene footage, Character’s “The New Build” promo video, and the “Focus Shift” video clip. In addition, the limited edition disc features an extended booklet layout, an alternative cover artwork, and includes also a free Dark Tranquillity patch.

An expanded edition was released in North America on May 27 and was scheduled for Worldwide release on June 23, 2008.

Other releases

Listening Trend

144,008listeners all time
5,173,314scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • DarkScimitar

    After listening to this album for years and finally seeing these guys live yesterday...yeah, this is easily their best. If they ever top this one I'll be amazed.

    5 Jan 9:39am Reply
  • Infinite_Impact

    Their absolute and infinite masterpiece! [2] Their magnum opus, indeed.

    27 Dec 2014 Reply
  • danielmedporp

    Their peak. The perfect balance between heaviness and melody. Keyboards are just awesome.

    22 Aug 2014 Reply
  • SoccerZocker

    One of my all time favorite albums. For sure the best of DT imo

    30 Mar 2014 Reply
  • versionfiv

    this band sold out on Damage Done, bromeister. they aren't bad like soilwork and in flames became but definitely focused on a mainstream sound. hard to believe this one was released in 2007. i still look at it as a very "new" album.

    13 Feb 2014 Reply
  • Colony666

    when bands like soilwork and in flames were selling out, DT stuck to their guns and destroyed em

    3 Feb 2014 Reply
  • Skyline-r34

    probably their best album

    7 Dec 2013 Reply
  • ArrTheMesia

    Five fucking stars to this brilliant album! ★★★★★

    29 Oct 2013 Reply
  • Keren22

    Perfect rainy day album [2]

    9 Oct 2013 Reply
  • HighIsTheWay

    perfect rainy day album

    12 Sep 2013 Reply
  • Meloku666

    I know that thier masterpiece is The Gallery but this one is my favorite one! "Focus Shift", "Icipher", "Nothing to NoOne", "The Lesser Faith", "Terminus"... maybe the only one that I can't dig is "Inside the Particle Storm".

    8 Sep 2013 Reply
  • krisAxe

    Amazing Music

    4 Jul 2013 Reply
  • BeIiar

    Piano is amazing on this album!!

    6 Jun 2013 Reply
  • daveLOVEsbeth


    24 May 2013 Reply
  • silmaaju

    The best melo death album.

    20 Feb 2013 Reply
  • ErnstHaeckel

    their best album!

    5 Feb 2013 Reply
  • Slaything

    huge grower

    24 Sep 2012 Reply
  • LobelieOfBodom

    That piano finally KILLS! <3

    15 Jul 2012 Reply
  • Dyomaeth

    Wow, it's been 5 years since I first heard this masterpiece. Feels like yesterday.

    15 May 2012 Reply
  • salagadam

    best of dt

    5 Mar 2012 Reply
  • All 190 shouts