Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Dark Empire


Everyone’s tags

More tags


New Jersey’s Dark Empire returns to the scene with their third release, From Refuge to Ruin. Fusing elements of extreme and classic metal, 70’s prog rock, and poetic, meaningful lyrics, Dark Empire bring forth a tremendously successful amalgam that is both refreshingly unique as well as raw and aggressive.

Dominating through the intricate songwriting are powerful new vocalist Brian Larkin (who replaces Jens Carlsson of Persuader and Savage Circus fame) and the commanding riffs of lead guitarist/main songwriter Matt Moliti, who also lends a chilling death vocal counterpoint to Larkin’s leather-throated melodic lines. In addition to Moliti’s elaborate guitar work and Larkin’s attention-grabbing vocals, Dark Empire features the deep resonance of bassist Randy Knecht and the “Dave Lombardo-meets-Gavin Harrison” drumming of session player Matt Graff.

Not being ones to repeat themselves, Dark Empire inject fresh new influences into their followup to 2008’s Humanity Dethroned. Taking a cue from 70’s prog masters such as Genesis and King Crimson, Dark Empire inventively utilize vintage Mellotron and Hammond Organ samples throughout the album, as well as delicate 12-string acoustic interludes and haunting, atmospheric melodies (coming to full fruition in the powerfully epic title track). This is not to undermine the push Dark Empire has also made in the heavier end of the dynamic spectrum, now utilizing seven-string guitars, crushing doom metal moments, and blistering death metal-inspired riffs.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

12,619listeners all time
238,211scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • AbortingMary

    Just listened to one song from the new album. Not liking it at all so far. The last singer was better.

    3 Jul 2013 Reply
  • SilverBarron

    I actually think From Refuge to Ruin keeps up with the standard that Humanity Dethroned set!

    14 Oct 2012 Reply
  • Reveler

    I listened to 2 songs of new album so far. And I may say for now that this album sucks. It's nowhere near their two last albums. First album FTW, 2nd ok, now is downfall.

    7 Oct 2012 Reply
  • YngvaiX - Dreaming In Vengeance Live @ Dingbatz Clifton, NJ May 27th 2012

    29 May 2012 Reply
  • Vash619

    Finally got to see them live! Brian did a great job handling the old material as well as delivering the bratwurst on the new stuff!

    23 May 2012 Reply
  • S-cythe

    i wish lyrics would start appearing already and yes The Cleansing fires is absolute brilliance.

    20 May 2012 Reply
  • SilverBarron

    The Cleansing Fires is one of their best songs!

    20 May 2012 Reply
  • ryujijitei

    Personally, I think it has some weak tracks for sure, but overall it's quite good. Then again, I might be biased because I love the style of it and am a huge supporter of the band in general.

    7 May 2012 Reply
  • PilariousD

    New album sucks.

    6 May 2012 Reply
  • Eddie_imp

    nice new album

    28 Apr 2012 Reply
  • SilverBarron

    I am actually surprised Dark Empire are not a lot bigger!

    31 Mar 2012 Reply
  • MinaseTaki

    The new singer is perfectly fine.

    28 Mar 2012 Reply
  • ryujijitei

    I think The Crimson Portrait just might be the best song Matt's written so far.

    25 Mar 2012 Reply
  • SilverBarron

    The new singer reminds me exactly of Mike Dimeo ex Masterplan member. Apart from that the new album is good, although very different from Humanity dethroned, but Humanity Dethroned was different from Distant Tides!

    15 Mar 2012 Reply
  • V_Shaft

    Brain Larkin's voice reminds me of Control Denied's Tim Aymar. Which is a good thing.

    25 Dec 2011 Reply
  • V_Shaft

    Just listened to "A Plague in the Throne Room"; I see the band's found a kick-ass vocalist, and DE are going forward as strong as ever. Can't wait for the album release!

    20 Dec 2011 Reply
  • YngvaiX

    @Vash We're one song away from the final mix. Mastering will happen in November, but since we have to plan ahead a bit, the release probably won't be until early 2012. I want to get some samples up before the end of the year though! If you're on facebook, our page is and we post all updates there as soon as I get em. - Matt

    24 Oct 2011 Reply
  • Vash619

    Whats the status on the new album dudes?

    23 Oct 2011 Reply
  • freeZy33

    NORTHERN SKY !!!!!!!

    30 Aug 2011 Reply
  • YngvaiX This is video of some lead guitar tracking. The quality, I'll warn in advance, is terrible, but at least it's something for now! - Matt

    16 Jun 2011 Reply
  • All 142 shouts

Top Listeners