Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Comedy of Errors


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Comedy Of Errors is a Glasgow-based progressive rock band formed in January 1984 with a first line-up of Jim Johnson (keyboards, vocals), Joe Cairney (vocals), John McPhee (drums), Mark Spalding (bass) and Mike Barnard (guitar). Their first recording is a three track demo cassette called “Ever be the Prize”, which is recorded at a studio in Blanefield (Scotland) in 1985, and followed by a mini album in 1986. A contribution for the Exposure album, a compilation album of new progressive rock bands compiled by Steven Wilson (No-Man, Porcupine Tree, Blackfield) is made with Time There Was, one of the tracks from the Mini Album, in 1986 as well.

Mike Barnard leaves the band soon after the release of the Mini Album and Mark Spalding switches from bass to guitar while Barry Henderson becomes the new bass player. Following performances in both the UK and Europe, another demo tape called “24 Hours” is recorded in 1987, which in 1988 is combined with the Mini Album to form the band’s only CD release under the French MSI label.

Unfortuantly this release got a pressing mistake. The song The Student Price Part 1, closing song of the Mini Album, is replaced by another version of Behold The Knight (also from the Mini Album). The last recordings released by Comedy of Erros sees the light in 1989 with therelease of the three track cassette Hold On. By this time the band had made a musical change from progressive rock towards hardrock and Joe Cairney has left the band and is replaced by John Cowden.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

2,488listeners all time
50,984scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • menswear2112

    Both albums are superb, you cannot go wrong with any of them.

    16 Aug 2014 Reply
  • lajana3

    Music excellent ... vocals not very impressive though

    30 Dec 2013 Reply
  • Wesley-VA

    sounding good- will listen more!

    30 Dec 2013 Reply
  • WinterWanderer

    Enjoying the new album quite a bit.

    20 Apr 2013 Reply
  • ob1970

    What a great album Disobay is. It bring back old memories but is unique at the same time.

    26 Apr 2012 Reply
  • CeeJaiGee

    Fine album

    19 Jan 2012 Reply
  • MetalMessiah88

    it's unique,the music is great,although I think the vocal is a bit strange...

    4 Oct 2011 Reply
  • Dasein_60

    Nice guitar work on this track. Enjoying the sound ...

    5 Sep 2011 Reply
  • Feanor30

    Sounds Good

    29 Aug 2011 Reply
  • Led_Zayatts

    Nice, very nice. Disobey is a very impressive work!

    26 Aug 2011 Reply
  • Rissan

    Finally after so many years Comedy Of Errors release a full new album. Like the songs and love to see that the band is back on the tracks again. Hopefully they are willing to re-release their back catalogue on proper CD's now as well.

    30 Jul 2011 Reply
  • Mark_H

    Disobey - a hidden gem. Need to change that!

    2 Jun 2011 Reply

Top Listeners