Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Chicago Odense Ensemble


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Chicago, United States (2008 – present)

Chicago Odense Ensemble is a unique collaboration that came together in the winter of 2008 while danish musicians Jonas Munk and Jakob Skøtt stayed in Chicago . Through mutual friends a studio session was arranged for the two to improvise and lay down ideas with some of Chicagos finest improvisers, including members of Tortoise and Chicago Underground Collective.

Improvisation is not unfamiliar to the two danes, however, as they are more than accustomed to working from spontaneity and freeform structures in psych/kraut/prog unit Causa Sui in their hometown of Odense. During the Chicago studio session hours of loose ideas, grooves and atmospherics were recorded, ranging from loud, intense musical outbursts led by cornetist Rob Mazurek, to delicate, colourful ambiences.

Later, the finest moments were edited, re-arranged and mixed by Jonas Munk in his studio in Odense, doing a great deal of cutting and pasting, and adding an occasional dreamy and dubby vibe to the soundscape. The result is something quite unique: a musical blend that exists somewhere in between the aesthetics of impro jazz, hypnotic rock and electronica. The closest reference for this kind of music is probably early 1970s proto-fusion jazz that strived for a similar synthesis of jazz improvisation, psychedelic rock, eastern and african sounds and the use of the studio as a musical tool instead of merely a recording facility.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

826listeners all time
13,205scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Sokratia59

    Formed 2008, Chicago, IL, United States Members Rob Mazurek (cornet), Jeff Parker (guitar, electronics), Dan Bitney (drums, percussion), Matt Lux (bass), Brian Keigher (percussion), Jonas Munk (guitar, electronics, keyboards), Jakob Skøtt (drums, percussion)

    24 May 2014 Reply
  • Pecteuw

    Wow!!! Although pretty late definitely one for my favourite albums list, in good company with HiM's Sworn Eyes.

    6 Feb 2013 Reply
  • TehGrandMystery

    Lovely. Oresund Space Collective meets Causa Sui.

    23 Jun 2012 Reply
  • xdreamx19

    I prefer fast and noisy jazz but this retro fusion improv is cool as well. you can't go wrong with members of Causa Sui

    1 Feb 2012 Reply
  • adluna-records

    Vinyls arrived at the office...Look AMAZING. 530 gram item. Just beautiful. Limited to 250 copies only.

    19 Apr 2011 Reply
  • adluna-records

    Chicago Odense Ensemble CDs arrived at the office. Shipping starts on Monday April 11th.

    8 Apr 2011 Reply
  • messo

    They filled the wormhole that Isotope 217 left in space ;)

    19 Jan 2011 Reply
  • FaceAuFleuve

    had a second listening to this today... it's a very good album !

    12 Jan 2011 Reply
  • kanabass

    so worth the wait! i pre-ordered in like march or april for this!

    11 Jan 2011 Reply
  • luishoracio2

    Yes it is, waiting for my copy to arrive!!

    11 Jan 2011 Reply
  • FaceAuFleuve

    Just so perfect !

    11 Jan 2011 Reply
  • ulinvodnaar

    So yeah, this is pretty damn good

    11 Jan 2011 Reply
  • adluna-records

    If you're into ultra limited stuff, join the Chicago Odense Ensemble Facebook page. A message will be sent to all friends there, to announce something very special.

    11 Aug 2010 Reply
  • adluna-records

    There will be only 500 copies of the double vinyl and CD version. The project will be exclusively available from us through this mail-order process. Euro prices have been set as low as possible, including FREE worldwide shipping. And regarding the supportive pre-orders coming from everywhere (USA, Canada, Australia, Japan, Europe...) it looks we did it right. We've even set a special combo: the deluxe double vinyl + the deluxe CD, with a big price cut. A lot of people choose this...

    23 Jun 2010 Reply
  • MichaelJoMayer

    I really hope that they release this album in the U.S. The Euro price is a little steep for me.

    23 Jun 2010 Reply
  • furio78

    Just a track, but it sounds really fine

    20 Jun 2010 Reply
  • adluna-records

    Tortoise, Isotope217, Causa Sui members: FREE TRACK!

    16 Jun 2010 Reply

Top Listeners