Loading player…

Calexico is an alt-country band formed in Tucson, Arizona in 1996, known for playing an eclectic variety of music. The two main members are Joey Burns and John Convertino, who first played together in Los Angeles as part of the group Giant Sand. They have recorded a number of albums on Quarterstick Records, while their 2005 album In the Reins, a collaboration with Iron & Wine, has reached the Billboard 200 album…

read more

Top Tracks

Top Albums

Similar Artists


Leave a comment. Log in to Last.fm or sign up.

  • Ah Calexico, how could I ever forget you!? One of the greatest bands ever...
  • I'd never heard of this band until their new one came out. Didn't think much of it at first but it's really grown on me now. Lovely summer album.
  • hot rail is pure nostalgia
  • decent new album, though far behind algiers and especially carried to dust
  • Heavy Pop Review: http://www.heavypop.at/calexico-edge-of-the-sun/
  • I don't get it. Sounds like Gram Parsons with ambience, which isn't a bad thing necessarily.
  • Two Silver Trees could be the best song on this side of the Milky Way
  • giant sand!
  • "When we write songs, the number one thing is just capturing a feel, a mood." - Calexico have been played on two Space Shuttle missions, one episode of Breaking Bad, and several installments of This American Life. Frontman Joey Burns tells us about some of the band's career highlights, and lets us in on his secret to making songs more palatable to radio and TV producers: http://www.songfacts.com/blog/interviews/joey_burns_of_calexico/
  • Breaking Bad

API Calls