Sweet Tea

Release date
15 May 2001
Running length
9 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Done Got Old 3:22 22,165
2 Baby Please Don't Leave Me 7:22 20,346
3 Look What All You Got 4:45 12,559
4 Stay All Night 4:10 13,893
5 Tramp 6:47 15,689
6 She's Got The Devil In Her 5:10 3,493
7 I Gotta Try You Girl 12:09 11,315
8 Who's Been Foolin' You 4:56 7,530
9 It's A Jungle Out There 5:37 7,438

About this album

Buddy Guy - Guitar, Main Performer, Vocals
Craig Krampf - Percussion
Pete Thomas - Drums
Bobby Whitlock - Piano
Jim Mathus - Guitar
Sam Carr - Drums
Davey Faragher - Bass

Album review:
Apparently somebody took the criticisms of Buddy Guy’s late-’90s Silvertone recordings to heart. They were alternately criticized for being too similar to Damn Right I Got the Blues or, as 1998’s Heavy Love, too blatant in its bid for a crossover rock audience. So, after a bit of a break, Guy returned in 2001 with Sweet Tea, an utter anomaly in his catalog.

Recorded at the studio of the same name in deep Mississippi, this is a bold attempt to make a raw, pure blues album - little reliance on familiar covers or bands, no crossover material, lots of extended jamming and spare production. That’s not to say that it’s without its gimmicks. In a sense, the very idea behind this record is a little gimmicky - let’s get Buddy back to the basics - even if it’s a welcome one, but that’s not the problem.

The problem is that the production is a bit too self-conscious in its stylized authenticity. There’s too much separation, too much echo, a strangely hollow center - it may sound rougher than nearly all contemporary blues albums, but it doesn’t sound gritty, which it should. Despite this, Sweet Tea is still a welcome addition to Buddy Guy’s catalog because, even with its affected production, it basically works.

Other releases

Listening Trend

53,846listeners all time
269,338scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to Last.fm or sign up.
  • justanotherider

    I'm absolutely astonished about how Buddy managed at this point of his career to even dare to come up with such a modern production here! hard rock guitar tones, electronic layers, a drum that pumps like it was in a metal band?!?! And still to pull it off with one of the best contemporary blues albums ever. And I mean great blues not just a label given for stylistic reasons. Really first time I put this cd on, I had to throw away the mobile phone, grab my headphones and just listen to it no stop for like 3 times..with a big grin on my face :D This album that deserve a monument..at least...

    31 Oct 2011 Reply
  • jwikstrom

    Someone has been listening to Junior Kimbrough...

    18 Mar 2011 Reply
  • barrospablito

    Um dos melhores e mais originais discos de blues de todos os tempos. Facim, facim. Keep on rockin', Buddy!

    11 Mar 2011 Reply
  • nieistniejac_y

    it's dfferent than his other albums.. so electronic in the background..and i love it ; )

    4 Dec 2010 Reply
  • radiopork

    The best Blues Album ever!

    8 Dec 2009 Reply
  • redevil1987

    ....yes, there are covers of a few artists. If I am not mistaken the album includes covers of Robert Cag, Junior Kimbrough, T-Model Ford.

    30 Apr 2009 Reply
  • silverpsycho13

    these are covers of junior kimbrough songs right? i feel like i read that somewhere...

    19 Jan 2009 Reply
  • evolovevolve

    if u don't know ask somebody.

    11 Sep 2008 Reply
  • jeb20

    I'm an electronic music guy and this is absolutely one of my favorite albums. Earth shaking

    19 Aug 2008 Reply
  • bpohanka

    Done got Old, cant do the things I used to do...

    5 Mar 2008 Reply

Top Listeners