Skip to
YouTube video

Loading player…

Related Tags

Oh Mercy is singer-songwriter Bob Dylan's 26th studio album, released by Columbia Records in September 1989.

Produced by Daniel Lanois, critics hailed the record as a triumph for Dylan, after a string of weaker-reviewed albums. Oh Mercy gave Dylan his best chart showing in years reaching #30 on the Billboard charts in the US and #6 in the UK.



Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

  • Avatar for innercities
    Bob's last non-apodictic album to date :)
  • Avatar for TheUselessGolem
    I love the way that most of this album sounds like it was recorded in some lonely, all-but-abandoned outpost in deep space, or on a planet and in a tower with a view of frozen, multi-hued waterfalls outside... something like that, anyway. And in that context the original Bootleg Series version of Series of Dreams actually *would* have worked as an opener (a notion that I found ridiculous 'til now): it'd be the astral voyage!
  • Avatar for TheGreatChupon
    Despite the lyrical lapses, this one has quickly risen near the top of my heap of Dylan favorites.
  • Avatar for Lord_Kur
    truly gets better with age
  • Avatar for jostfischer
    After reading in "Chronicles 1" the chapter about recording "Oh Mercy" and listen to this album several times I started to like these songs.
  • Avatar for ralfsu
    I never liked Oh Mercy and now I find myself slowly falling in love with it. And it really doesn't sound boring like Infidels, or cheesy like Empire Burlesque. Just very slick, powerful music.
  • Avatar for Akayz7
    Unbelievably good. his best 80s album for sure.
  • Avatar for ColorBlindBlues
    I love this album. Very deep writing
  • Avatar for Rod_S
    His best. Amazing late night atmosphere and slinky arrangements.
  • Avatar for godonnygo
    Great album, the highs aren't as high as Time Out of Mind, but it is more consistent.

API Calls