Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Blue Öyster Cult


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Long Island, New York, United States (1967 – present)

Blue Öyster Cult is a renowned band that formed in 1967 in Long Island, New York, United States. The band is led by founding members Eric Bloom (vocals, guitar) and Buck Dharma (guitar, vocals). They are best known for their hit singles “(Don’t Fear) The Reaper” and “Burnin’ for You”, from 1976 and 1981 respectively.

The members of the band began to come together in the late as a band called Soft White Underbelly in the vicinity of Stony Brook University on Long Island, New York, formed at the prompting of critic Sandy Pearlman. Pearlman was very influential for the band, which included getting them gigs, their first record with Columbia, and using his poetry as the basis of many of their songs such as 1974’s “Astronomy”.

The band changed its name to the Stalk-Forrest Group in 1968. One single was released on Elektra Records under this name in 1969, though over one album of material was actually recorded. The groups’ name changed once more, to Blue Oyster Cult, in 1970. The umlaut was added later that year. They became a successful hard rock band during the ; unlike many of their colleagues, they are still active today.

They are best known for three songs: their 1976 single “(Don’t Fear) The Reaper” from the album Agents of Fortune (also featured in the cult movie Halloween, and in Stephen King’s novel The Stand), “Godzilla” (1977) from the album Spectres and their 1981 single “Burnin’ for You” from the album Fire of Unknown Origin.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

913,949listeners all time
12,845,102scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Killman66

    My new love ! :)

    21 Sep 10:24pm Reply
  • Mr_Johnny_Space

    Awa fucking some ...

    6 Sep 4:29pm Reply
  • Mike_Boat_City

    Releasing new music (something that didn't happen to BOC since 2001 :P) as Blue Coupe with Dennis Dunaway

    27 Aug 8:10pm Reply
  • daspeedymole

    What are the other original members doing that's apparently so much more important (Besides Allen of course)?

    27 Aug 6:29pm Reply
  • Mike_Boat_City

    Yes, one final BÖC record would be great, hopefully with Bouchard Brothers and Eric/Buck/Joe doing keyboard parts as a tribute to Allen, no outside players (however Two Öyster Cult seems to love Richie Castellano :P) . It would be wonderful and yet it's not going to happen...

    17 Aug 11:14pm Reply
  • cogira94

    BOC are an album band, not just a few hit wonder group. Shame most people don't delve deep enough into their catalogue. That being said....I'd love for one final BOC record. [2] Agreed so much. Everyone reading this check out their first 3 albums, you'll be in for a treat.

    16 Aug 7:45am Reply
  • SonnyJoeFoxx

    RIP Allen Lanier. Died one year ago August 15th.

    16 Aug 5:17am Reply
  • CarlaSitt

    BÖC ♥

    16 Aug 4:49am Reply
  • thedoomkitten

    I love you BOC :D

    1 Aug 2:27pm Reply
  • FjordSweetFjord

    BOC are an album band, not just a few hit wonder group. Shame most people don't delve deep enough into their catalogue. That being said....I'd love for one final BOC record.

    23 Jul 4:38pm Reply
  • HaHaHaYoureDead

    одна из редких по-настоящему крутых банд в середине 70-х - времени на редкость унылом, если забыть про нью-йоркский панк.

    19 Jul 11:54am Reply
  • JeremyAce4


    7 Jul 2:14am Reply
  • Malatoth_

    I fucking love this band!!

    4 Jul 2:36pm Reply
  • dechrizzle

    Ghost needs an entire BOC tribute album. My mind and soul would just explode from greatness.

    3 Jul 3:40pm Reply
  • kwayne16

    Ok , I'm feeling bad because I just started listen this guys now. I mean , I'm a big classic rock fan and of course , I already listen about BOX and one of their greatest hits , Don't Fear The Reaper but damn I'm into their albums now and they're pretty good.

    20 Jun 1:54am Reply
  • Sewer007

    Goddamn, I love this band!

    11 Jun 5:23pm Reply
  • Zach216

    It's probably blasphemous to think they're better than Led Zeppelin but I think their music had way more balls... more muscular whatever you wanna call it. "Spectres" is a classic in my opinion and songs like "Flaming Telepaths" and "Astronomy" (which Metallica covers on Garage Inc.) are as good as any song written in the 70s, imo!

    8 Jun 2:42pm Reply

    WOOOOO! I love me some GODZELLA! SPANK! Go Go GODZILLA! Spank!

    11 May 6:13am Reply
  • mjcedillo

    I met them in that 70's show.. this epic band in that epic show..

    27 Apr 12:25am Reply
  • porcelain_tree

    Nice to see albums like Secret Treaties (my favorite) get some love. There's a lot of crazily good stuff in the old albums.

    9 Apr 12:57am Reply
  • All 1194 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners