Castle Music UK
Release date
22 Sep 1998
Running length
10 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Wheels Of Confusion/The Straightener 8:00 28,682
2 Tomorrow's Dream 3:04 150,311
3 Changes 4:42 207,650
4 FX 1:42 92,679
5 Supernaut 4:43 196,398
6 Snowblind 6:07 224,831
7 Cornucopia 3:58 120,696
8 Laguna Sunrise 2:49 108,098
9 St. Vitus Dance 2:26 73,374
10 Under the Sun/Every Day Comes and Goes 5:54 25,685

About this album

Black Sabbath Vol. 4 (often shortened to Volume 4) is the fourth album by the British heavy metal band Black Sabbath, released in 1972. The album was originally to be titled Snowblind, after one of several songs referring to cocaine use, and features several Sabbath classics, such as “Tomorrow’s Dream,” “Snowblind,” “Supernaut” and “Changes.”

Volume 4 demonstrates Black Sabbath beginning to experiment with the heavy sound they had become known for. Although some songs are in their trademark style, others demonstrate a soft, orchestral approach. This is exemplified by the song “Changes”. Written by Tony Iommi, it is entirely in the form of a piano ballad with mellotron. Although the band had used piano on some songs previously, it had played only a minor role in the songs.

At least two songs on the album reference the use of cocaine. The lyrics and title of “Snowblind” is an example of this. The song “Snowblind” also had to be re-recorded because the original version features Osbourne yelling the word “cocaine!” after each verse. On the officially released version, “cocaine” is whispered quite audibly after the first verse, approximately 41 seconds into the song (During live performances Osbourne would again scream the word at the top of his lungs).

Other releases

Listening Trend

50,965listeners all time
786,545scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Carpe4Diem

    Хороший альбом.

    18 Aug 2:47pm Reply
  • cyclonnl

    There's only one word to describe this masterpiece: EPIC

    11 Aug 8:57am Reply
  • already-taken

    This one might be my fave.

    24 Jul 7:07am Reply
  • Jeesse

    best black sabbath album, my favorite.

    18 May 8:00am Reply
  • SabbraCaddabra

    If this album won't bring you back from the Dead just to Kill you, then I don't know what will !

    16 Feb 9:07am Reply
  • thrillkill01

    @Rubberbandman16 There's actually about six different versions of this album.

    30 Jan 10:15pm Reply
  • thrillkill01

    @Marsbergen If you add up all the different versions of this album it's near the top. My personal vote is for "Black Sabbath Vol. 4"

    30 Jan 10:14pm Reply
  • Rubberbandman16

    @ Marsbergen the reason 4 low listeners is cuz it's actually Vol 4, without a period. There's actually 2 pages 4 this same album

    28 Oct 2013 Reply
  • jajemju

    I think it's all about different tag, last fm called this album "Vol. 4", on the CD I clearly see "Black Sabbath Vol. 4", but inside the booklet there are two other options "Volume 4" and "Black Sabbath Vol 4". There is only one question this recording was real or "Was it illusion?" ;)

    24 Sep 2013 Reply
  • Tullerr

    B*TCH, PLEASE! TOP 3. Awesome Album, omfg

    7 Aug 2013 Reply
  • firefly2811

    so under rated it hurts . top five ozzy album.

    21 Jun 2013 Reply
  • Marsbergen

    And why does this have so few listeners?

    28 Feb 2013 Reply
  • Marsbergen

    Heaviest album ever. This is the album that made the aliens turn their spaceships straight back to where they came from. They didn't want to fuck with us mental humans.

    24 Feb 2013 Reply
  • SlaveOfN1l

    Wheels of Confusion is probably my favorite Sabbath song ever [2]

    17 Feb 2013 Reply
  • TIWL


    26 Jan 2013 Reply
  • Isaaaaaak

    supernaut and snowblind make a hell of a back to back face melting session. MY EYES ARE BLIIIIIND BUT I CAN SEEEEEEE

    8 Jan 2013 Reply
  • DrianIommi


    25 Sep 2012 Reply
  • felipemaiden

    40 years today!!!!

    25 Sep 2012 Reply
  • Zaimondos

    My favourite Black Sabbath record [5]. Wheels of Confusion, Snowblind and Under the Sun three of my favourite Sabbath songs ever.

    23 Jul 2012 Reply
  • FlyingTanooki

    Best Sabbath album ever. I can't believe something as heavy as Under the Sun was written in the early 70's.

    21 Jun 2012 Reply
  • All 65 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners