Technical Ecstasy

Universal Music Italia srL.
Release date
16 Oct 2009
Running length
8 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Back Street Kids 3:48 57,795
2 You Won't Change Me 6:37 49,528
3 It's Alright 3:59 40,323
4 Gypsy 5:08 47,576
5 All Moving Parts (Stand Still) 4:58 34,182
6 Rock 'N' Roll Doctor 3:24 44,371
7 She's Gone 4:50 56,346
8 Dirty Women 7:10 90,866

About this album

Album information: Technical Ecstasy

Technical Ecstasy continued the band’s separation from its signature doom and darkness that had been such a trademark of the band’s early career. While the album’s lyrics dealt with topics such as drug dealers, prostitution, and transvestites, the music itself was seldom dark, and tracks like “Rock ‘n’ Roll Doctor” and “It’s Alright” (the latter sung by drummer Bill Ward—a decision supported by Ozzy Osbourne), were very different from Black Sabbath’s earlier recordings. Also, the band continued experimenting with keyboards and synthesizers more so than previous albums. The track “She’s Gone” features orchestrations.
Osbourne left the band briefly following the release of the album. He would eventually rejoin for the follow-up album, Never Say Die!.
The cover art is designed by Hipgnosis and is meant to represent two robots having sex. Osbourne once described it as “two robots screwing on an escalator.”[3]
The UK release had a two-sided lyric/credit-insert.
“Gypsy”, “Dirty Women”, “Rock ‘n’ Roll Doctor” and (briefly) “All Moving Parts (Stand Still)” were played live on the supporting tour.
“It’s Alright” was often covered live by Guns N’ Roses, and included in their Live Era: ‘87–’93 album. The song was also featured in the 2010 film “It’s Kind of a Funny Story.”
It was certified Gold on 19 June 1997[4] and peaked at number 51 on the Billboard Pop Album chart.[5]

Track listing:

Other releases

Listening Trend

67,193listeners all time
848,500scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • SpiderLabyrinth

    Better than its reputation. [4] This album is a grower, for sure.

    23 Jun 12:00am Reply
  • ShredsofFlesh

    Better than its reputation. [3]

    31 May 3:07pm Reply
  • Tymbolic

    really like this one actually. pleasantly surprised

    25 May 2:59am Reply
  • usuallee

    I avoided this album for 20 years due to its putrid reputation. Imagine my surprise when I finally listened to it for myself and realized it's actually pretty good. No, not great like the previous albums, but good.

    13 May 12:37pm Reply
  • gokunirvana

    And don't forget that weird and awesome album cover by Hipgnosis, too. Who said robotic love couldn't be beautiful?

    10 Apr 1:43am Reply
  • gokunirvana

    @the_raytownian: Oh, that was a joke! (an unfunny one, I know). Actually, I don't have anything against St. Anger. In fact I like it, althought it's not one of my favorites. Anyway, I noticed that since this album, Ozzy's voice changed more noticeably than the previous albums (since Sabbath, Bloody Sabbath, at least) and it will sound more familiar to the fans of his solo career, I think.

    10 Apr 1:27am Reply
  • DonMatt447

    Better than its reputation. [2]

    21 Mar 11:20pm Reply
  • drvirtuozov

    Criminally underrated! [2]

    2 Feb 7:00pm Reply
  • drlarrymitchell

    Had a friend play "It's Alright" for me, and he said it was weird because Ozzy sounds like Perry Como. Actually, it was Bill Ward sounding like Perry Como.

    24 Jan 3:47am Reply
  • vain-o

    Criminally underrated! Lot of brilliant songs like Gypsy, Dirty Women, Back Street Kids and Rock n Roll Doctor.

    11 Sep 2013 Reply
  • mayazjpjh

    Never Say Die!>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Technical Ecstasy. [2]

    8 Aug 2013 Reply
  • Killed-By-Death

    The worst thing of this album is the artwork. The music is just fucking cool.

    20 Jun 2013 Reply
  • deratyne

    Amazing stuff [3]

    16 Apr 2013 Reply
  • gokunirvana

    Actually, I would rather choose a band that tries new things than one that does always the same stuff over and over again. Almost always, things work out in the former (St. Anger, anyone?), and Sabbath has enough talent to not screw it up. The different style fits perfect with Ozzy's voice, and the rest of the band plays amazing as always. I don't really see anything bad on this album.

    12 Apr 2013 Reply
  • Idiots-Rule

    This is different than their other material, but I really like it. It's like Black Sabbath was very influenced by Queen at the time. Amazing once you get to really "understand" it.

    3 Apr 2013 Reply
  • Marsbergen

    Love this album more and more, every time I hear it

    28 Feb 2013 Reply
  • Lowbacca

    Amazing stuff [2]

    5 Nov 2012 Reply
  • Mr-Tinkertrain-

    Never Say Die!>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Technical Ecstasy.

    3 Nov 2012 Reply
  • cobmaniac

    Gypsy, Dirty Women and She´s Gone! Amazing stuff :)

    13 Oct 2012 Reply
  • robsonyoroku

    It's Alright ♥ best but underrated music

    6 Sep 2012 Reply
  • All 98 shouts