One Little Indian Records
Release date
2 Mar 2009
Running length
14 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Pleasure Is All Mine 3:27 154,507
2 Show Me Forgiveness 1:24 148,132
3 Where Is the Line 4:41 101,475
4 Vökuró 3:14 66,317
5 Öll Birtan 1:52 78,712
6 Who Is It (Carry My Joy on the Left, Carry My Pain on the Right) 3:57 44,753
7 Submarine 3:14 119,411
8 Desired Constellation 4:56 122,286
9 Oceania 3:25 156,029
10 Sonnets/Unrealities XI 1:59 49,332
11 Ancestors 4:08 103,400
12 Mouth's Cradle 4:00 102,197
13 Midvikudags 1:24 50,183
14 Triumph of a Heart 4:04 92,966

About this album

Medúlla, meaning “marrow” in Latin, is an album by Icelandic singer/songwriter/musician Björk, which was released on 30 August 2004 (see 2004 in music).

The album is almost entirely a cappella and constructed with human vocals; only few musical instruments are featured: a bass synthesizer on “Who Is It” and “Mouth’s Cradle”, piano on “Ancestors” and a gong on “Pleasure Is All Mine”. However, the vocals are sometimes processed or sampled: for example, the atmospheric haze that dominates “Desired Constellation” was created from a sample of Björk singing the phrase “I’m not sure what to do with it” from “Hidden Place” on her previous album, Vespertine.

The album features beatboxing, choral arrangements and throat singing, as well as guest appearances by such artists as Mike Patton, Robert Wyatt, Tagaq, Rahzel (formerly of The Roots), Shlomo and Dokaka.

All songs were written by Bjork, except the lyrics for “Sonnets/Unrealities XI” which was based on a poem by E. E. Cummings, and the song “Vökuró”, originally by Jórunn Viðar.

Björk received two Grammy Award nominations for Medúlla, including Female Pop Vocal Performance for “Oceania”, and Alternative Music Album. This album is also featured in the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die

Other releases

Listening Trend

223,683listeners all time
3,578,914scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Listening Now

Top Listeners