Woke On A Whaleheart

Release date
24 Apr 2007
Running length
9 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 From the Rivers to the Ocean 6:35 15,900
2 Footprints 2:47 15,278
3 Diamond Dancer 4:00 22,271
4 Sycamore 5:32 18,434
5 The Wheel 4:03 13,718
6 Honeymoon Child 4:33 50,324
7 Day 4:32 11,847
8 Night 3:04 13,322
9 A Man Needs a Woman or a Man to Be a Man 5:13 13,175

About this album

Woke on a Whaleheart was the first record released by Bill Callahan under his own name instead of his nom de plume, Smog. His relationship with Drag City continues, however, and they released the album in the U.S.A. on April 24th, 2007. It was released a week earlier in Callahan’s home state, Texas. A single, “Diamond Dancer”, preceded the album. It was released on March 20, 2007.

The arrangements of labelmate and former-Royal Trux vocalist and guitarist Neil Hagerty are featured on the album, and Callahan’s band consists of vocalist Deani Pugh-Flemmings, guitarist Pete Denton, violinist Elizabeth Warren, percussionist Thor Harris, bassist Steve Bernal, and keyboard/lap steel player Howard Draper. The album was recorded by Jeremy Lemos, who previously recorded albums Rain on Lens and Supper for Callahan. The album’s sound touches upon “gospel, tough pop and American Light Opera.”

Joe Grillo of the art collective Dearraindrop created the album artwork.

Track Listing
1. “From the Rivers to the Ocean” – 6:35
2. “Footprints” – 2:47
3. “Diamond Dancer” – 4:00
4. “Sycamore” – 5:35
5. “The Wheel” – 4:03
6. “Honeymoon Child” – 4:40
7. “Day” – 4:32
8. “Night” – 3:04
9. “A Man Needs a Woman or a Man to Be a Man” – 5:13

Other releases

Listening Trend

25,091listeners all time
495,276scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to Last.fm or sign up.

Top Listeners