War Requiem

Running length
19 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 I. Requiem aeternam - Requiem aeternam 7:46 20
2 I. Requiem aeternam - What passing-bells, Tenor 3:08 3
3 I. Requiem aeternam - Kyrie eleison, Chorus 1:46 3
4 II. Dies irae - Dies irae, dies illa, Chorus 4:10 3
5 II. Dies irae - Dugles sang, Baritone 3:11 3
6 II. Dies irae - Liber scriptus proferetur, Soprano, Chorus 3:06 3
7 II. Dies irae - Out there, Tenor, Baritone 1:59 3
8 II. Dies irae - Recordare Jesu pie, Chorus 5:36 4
9 II. Dies irae - De slowly lifted up, Baritone 1:43 3
10 II. Dies irae - Dies irae, dies illa, Chorus, Soprano 1:20 3
11 II. Dies irae - Lacrimosa, Chorus 6:51 3
12 II. Dies irae - Pie Jesu Domine, Chorus 1:56 3
13 III. Offertorium - Domine Jesu Christe, Boy's Choir 1:44 4
14 III. Offertorium - Sed signifer sanctus Michael, Chorus 2:20 3
15 III. Offertorium - So Abraham rose, Baritone, Tenor 4:45 3
16 III. Offertorium - Quam olim Abrahae promisisti, Chorus 1:38 3
17 IV. Sanctus - Sanctus, Soprano, Chorus 2:43 1
18 IV. Sanctus - Hosanna - Benedictus - Hosanna, Chorus, Soprano 4:12 1
19 IV. Sanctus - After the blast, Baritone 3:27 1

About this album

The War Requiem, Op. 66, is a large-scale, non-liturgical setting of the Requiem Mass composed by Benjamin Britten mostly in 1961 and completed in January 1962. The War Requiem was performed for the consecration of the new Coventry Cathedral, which was built after the original fourteenth-century structure was destroyed in a World War II bombing raid. The traditional Latin texts are interspersed, in telling juxtaposition, with settings of poems by Wilfred Owen, written in World War I. The work is scored for soprano, tenor and baritone soloists, chorus, boys’ choir, organ, and two orchestras (a full orchestra and a chamber orchestra). The chamber orchestra accompanies the intimate settings of the English poetry, while soprano, choirs and orchestra are used for the Latin sections; all forces are combined in the conclusion.

The first recording, featuring Vishnevskaya, Fischer-Dieskau and Pears, with the London Symphony Orchestra and The Bach Choir conducted by Britten, was produced in 1963. Within five months of its release it sold 200,000 copies, an unheard-of number for a piece of contemporary classical music at that time.

Other releases

Listening Trend

885listeners all time
17,863scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to Last.fm or sign up.

Top Listeners