Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Beneath The Sky


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Cincinnati has never been considered to be one of the more high-profile music scenes a la New York, Los Angeles, Seattle or Austin, yet the new Victory Records band Beneath The Sky has emerged from that scene there with the resonance of the fabled Big Red Machine. The extreme death metal core outfit is shocking the world with What Demons Do To Saints, featuring a hellacious collection of songs that elicit fevered comparisons to bands such as Carcass, Hypocrisy, Shadows Fall and Killswitch Engage.

Rising from the ashes of various local bands, including scene favorite Blind Judgment, singer Joey Nelson, axemen Jeff Nelson and Chris Profitt, keyboardist Matt Jones, bassist Nick Scarberry and drummer Brandon Sowder came together in mid-2004. “We knew each other when we were in different bands,” Nelson recalls. “Over time, we first became friends, and eventually we decided to create our own band. It was similar to the music we were playing early on, only that we wanted to be a little more melodic with this band.”

It didn’t take long for the sextet to realize their immense potential. “From the start, we wanted to create a different sound,” Jeff says. “We knew we had it right after the first show. Everything just clicked.”

Did it ever: In January of 2004, they cut a four-song demo in Cincinnati; 5,000 copies of it were snapped up almost instantly. After more touring of the Midwest, they recorded five new songs in Cleveland for another EP; copies of that went just as fast. The commotion attracted the attention of Victory Records, which brought them into the fold in no time…and back into the studio to record their debut album.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

44,448listeners all time
1,148,130scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • rusverm Лучшая ~мелодик металкор песня среди мало популярных групп?

    26 Oct 2014 Reply
  • JamesPhillips70

    this band has always been under rated, Not a boring song ever, I just put on the album "in loving memory" it's better than I hoped, this band should never have broken up, shame man.

    5 Oct 2014 Reply
  • 40belowsummer

    Okay the album "What Demons Do To Saints" sucks big balls. I gave this album another spin after one year and I was like, what a boring album. I will check out their other albums, if they are as bad as WDDTS this band gets deleted out of my library. Ah yeah and by the way it's my personal opinion, so I don't want to hear any complains.

    1 Oct 2014 Reply
  • AwesomeT


    3 Aug 2014 Reply
  • Ale34

    RIP BTS.

    27 Jul 2014 Reply
  • BrootalK1d


    24 Jul 2014 Reply
  • Klefmop

    what demons do to saints was the album of my eighth grade year.

    27 Jan 2014 Reply
  • FatcapVandal


    13 Oct 2013 Reply
  • bombtrack


    21 Sep 2013 Reply
  • TechProg

    from BTS facebook page: To answer all of your questions....Yes we are currently writing new material with plans to record another full album. We have one song recorded completely so far and will be posting on Friday for you the fans. We will also be playing this song live this upcoming Saturday at Bogarts in Cincinnati. We are planning on spending the majority of fall and winter writing and demoing new tracks to hopefully start tracking in early 2014. We unfortunately are not able to tour....but we will continue to make music. Thank you all for sticking by us throughout the years and not forgetting about us....we haven't forgotten about you.

    14 Sep 2013 Reply
  • Boobies4

    My Bitter Half | Facebook MY BITTER HALF | THE DARKNESS IS COMING (EP) NEW!!! Genre: Deathcore Youtube Full EP Preview | Mediafire Download EP

    30 Aug 2013 Reply
  • Onlywanderer

    для стиля довольно интересные

    21 Apr 2013 Reply
  • AwesomeT

    grandofillusion, They played a reunion show on January 26, 2013, and according to Chris, there are so far 6 new songs in the works. He said that if a new album is not right for the band, then they will simply release the songs online. The band posted a video of the first test post hiatus, the video shows some members of the original lineup.

    10 Apr 2013 Reply
  • grandofillusion

    хороши! кто нибудь знает они еще живы?

    8 Apr 2013 Reply
  • AwesomeT

    So fucking geniously. Please, guys, go back.

    9 Mar 2013 Reply
  • emorocker557

    Belle Of The Ball<3

    30 Jan 2013 Reply
  • Tercio777

    please, come back. i miss you guys 3

    25 Jan 2013 Reply
  • EpidemiKKK

    please, come back. i miss you guys [2]

    19 Jan 2013 Reply
  • Rub1nSky

    please, come back. i miss you guys

    2 Jan 2013 Reply
  • FreeMHZ

    5 Oct 2012 Reply
  • All 461 shouts

Top Listeners