The Sounds Of Science (1:32)

Cover of Paul's Boutique

From Paul's Boutique and 4 other releases

The Sounds of Science is the 6th track on the album Paul’s Boutique by American hip hop group the Beastie Boys, released on July 25, 1989.

* Produced & written by the Beastie Boys & the Dust Brothers.
* Engineered by Mario Caldato & Allen Abrahamson.
* The title of the track was inspired by “The Sounds of Silence”, a song by Simon and Garfunkel.


* “Back in the USSR” by The Beatles
* “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band” by The Beatles
* “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise)” by The Beatles

* “When I’m Sixty-Four” by The Beatles
* “The End” by The Beatles
* “Walk from Regio’s” by Isaac Hayes
* “Don’t Sniff Coke” by Pato Banton
* “Get Up, Get Into It, Get Involved” by James Brown
* “My Philosophy” by Boogie Down Productions


Everyone’s tags

More tags

Play with Spotify

Is this the wrong video for this track? Suggest a better video

Flag video

Albums featuring this track (5)

Similar Tracks

  Track   Duration Listeners
Beastie Boys - 3-Minute Rule 3:42 100,259
Beastie Boys - High Plains Drifter 1:42 117,552
Public Enemy - Bring the Noise 3:47 199,949
Public Enemy - Don't Believe the Hype 5:20 138,955
De La Soul - The Magic Number 1:16 165,817
A Tribe Called Quest - Buggin' Out 3:38 255,624

Listening Trend

107,796listeners all time
363,923scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more

Listen to, buy or share


Send Ringtones to Cell

Now here we go dropping science, dropping it all over
Like bumping around the town like when you're driving a Range Rover
Expanding the horizon and expanding the parameter
Expanding the rhymes of sucka MC amateurs

MetroLyrics Full lyrics at MetroLyrics


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • afx__


    12 Mar 9:21pm Reply
  • nerdork


    4 Jul 2014 Reply
  • TheSuperCrasher

    Only the Beasties could sample 5 Beatles songs and get away with it. Masterful.

    1 Oct 2012 Reply
  • justinmcgonigle

    top 10 albums of all time

    29 Jun 2012 Reply
  • ruinedtwo

    One of the all-time classic albums from start to finish, and not just for the Beasties. Amazing.

    27 Jun 2012 Reply
  • Nakkinak

    oh my god epic win

    20 May 2012 Reply
  • maestrosync

    Going out first class indeed.

    15 May 2012 Reply
  • rokas_m

    its amazing because you nowadays you cant get away with sampling the Beatles

    10 May 2012 Reply
  • Adrian347

    dropping science like Galileo dropped the orange

    4 May 2012 Reply
  • mister_tarmac

    "Going out first class not going out coach". RIP MCA. Terrible, terrible news.

    4 May 2012 Reply
  • Krmgtsm7

    Definite foot tapper :-)

    9 Mar 2012 Reply
  • prominence_la


    29 Nov 2011 Reply
  • lesliedahlink

    They sample "Being For The Benefit of Mr. Kite!" on this as well. Don't forget.

    10 Nov 2011 Reply
  • gomezfx

    this song effin rules

    10 Nov 2011 Reply
  • shaolin86

    Love this so much... Paul's Boutique is a masterpiece and this is one of the standouts.

    22 Sep 2011 Reply
  • Casdebom

    Ohwow, the double rapping part is awesome. Do they do that on other albums?

    3 Sep 2011 Reply
  • bloodmaw


    18 Aug 2011 Reply
  • ClownBehbeh

    Did anybody else kind of hope they would sample "The Sound of Silence" for this one?

    31 Jul 2011 Reply
  • danc6433

    irreckgreek wrote: October 2010 only Jews to do something good with their lives Yeah, Lenny Bruce, Bob Dylan, Ayn Rand, Natalie Portman....what terrible contributions to society. Muslims on the other hand have enriched the world SOOOO MUUUCCCHHHH.

    1 Jul 2011 Reply
  • PartySanCTG

    Can't forget the The End guitar riff.

    6 Jun 2011 Reply
  • All 72 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners