Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Band Of Susans


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Band of Susans is a music band formed in New York in 1986 by Robert Poss (guitar/vocals), Susan Stenger (bass/vocals) and Ron Spitzer (drums) with Susan Lyall (guitar), Susan Tallman (guitar) and Alva Rogers (vocals).

Taking their name from the number of Susans in the line up, Band of Susans released one EP - Blessing and Curse - on Poss’s own Trace Elements label before being signed to Mute Records’s Blast First imprint for their first album Hope Against Hope. After the release, Rogers, Lyall and Tallman quit to be replaced by Karen Haglof (guitar) and Page Hamilton (guitar). After a second album - Love Agenda - and a Peel Sessions EP the two new members quit (Hamilton to form Helmet) and were replaced by Anne Husick (guitar) and Mark Lonergan (guitar), forming the line up which made three more albums and one EP. On the band’s final U.S. and European tours a young Jay Braun filled in for Mark Lonergan. The band’s final production was a version of Wire’s Ahead for a collection of Wire cover versions called Whore, released in 1996.

Musically, BoS organised their three guitarists into providing an overwhelming wail of feedback and guitar noise layered under more conventional song structures (Poss had worked with guitar enemble composer Rhys Chatham and was a big fan of The Rolling Stones - the latter resulting in covers of Child of the Moon and Paint it Black). Although pretty much unconnected with it, Band of Susans are generally included in the New York scene that produced Sonic Youth and Glenn Branca.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

8,221listeners all time
116,954scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • bldninja

    It's all about the guitars baby! [1]

    18 Aug 2014 Reply
  • RussellChap

    It's all about the guitars baby!

    3 Feb 2014 Reply
  • vyache1984

    звук выше всяких похвал

    15 Jun 2013 Reply
  • MA699

    Love their cover Paint It Black

    15 Aug 2012 Reply
  • nandosiol

    Really good stuff

    8 Jun 2012 Reply
  • Gaffes


    13 Apr 2011 Reply
  • blesscurse

    Look for new Robert Poss solo release: SETTINGS - MUSIC FOR DANCE, FILM, FASHION AND INDUSTRY SETTINGS is a collection of music commissioned by choreographers Sally Gross, Alexandra Beller and Gerald Casel for three extraordinary modern dance companies, accompanied by other recent pieces for guitar, percussion and electronics. Its imaginative soundscapes represent a departure from Poss’ dense, wall-of-distortion guitar-and-electronic solo pieces and from the ecstatic Rock minimalism of Band Of Susans, yet threads of both are evident.

    10 Sep 2010 Reply
  • liamh1987

    Love their cover of child of the moon

    27 Aug 2010 Reply
  • viragom

    First impression - awesome!

    28 Jul 2010 Reply
  • ElNuevoPure

    it's locked awaaaaaay

    24 Feb 2010 Reply
  • pathtoyirah

    dig all that fuzz, especially the noise solo in the pursuit of happiness

    23 Feb 2010 Reply
  • bruno__________

    because it's the "official" picture, uploaded by the band or the label.

    17 Jan 2010 Reply
  • daydream_set

    Why is it stuck on the same main picture?

    3 Jan 2010 Reply
  • Sayshalala


    28 Dec 2008 Reply
  • bruno__________

    sounds nice

    28 Jul 2008 Reply
  • magnifier

    Anyone else into these boys (circa the Love Agenda period) should pick up Live Skull's Positraction - very similar sound, great album.

    23 Mar 2007 Reply
  • Roy_Batty

    Um... who is tagging Band of Susans with Madchester? Hmmm...

    4 Sep 2006 Reply
  • All 21 shouts

Top Listeners