Straight Up

Release date
25 Oct 2010
Running length
18 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Take It All (2010 - Remaster) 4:26 141
2 Baby Blue (2010 - Remaster) 3:36 716
3 Money (2010 - Remaster) 3:29 136
4 Flying (2010 - Remaster) 2:35 101
5 I'd Die Babe (2010 - Remaster) 2:33 103
6 Name Of The Game (2010 - Remaster) 5:20 105
7 Suitcase (2010 - Remaster) 2:53 100
8 Sweet Tuesday Morning (2010 - Remaster) 2:30 95
9 Day After Day (2010 - Remaster) 3:09 555
10 Sometimes (2010 - Remaster) 2:52 94
11 Perfection (2010 - Remaster) 5:07 96
12 It's Over (2010 - Remaster) 3:34 90
13 I'll Be The One (2010 - Remaster) 2:53 85
14 Name Of The Game (Earlier Version) (2010 - Remaster) 4:23 69
15 Baby Blue (US Single Mix) (2010 - Remaster) 3:36 94
16 Baby Please (Previously Unreleased) 3:04 81
17 No Good At All (Previously Unreleased) 2:09 90
18 Sing For The Song (Previously Unreleased) 3:18 80

About this album

Recordings for Straight Up began in early 1971 under the direction of producer Geoff Emerick, who produced the bulk of Badfinger’s preceding album No Dice. Although these early recordings were completed and both the album and a single, “Name of the Game”, were ready to be released, Apple Records co-president George Harrison decided the album could be improved under his personal direction, which led the single to be canceled. Harrison recorded a couple of new tracks with the band in the summer of 1971, as well as re-recording a couple of the original tracks. He can be heard playing a slide-guitar duet with Pete Ham on the song “Day After Day”, with Leon Russell featured on piano. Additionally, Harrison and Phil Spector planned a different string arrangement for “Name of the Game”, but this apparently never came to pass.

Due to a hurriedly-assembled benefit concert that summer, The Concert for Bangladesh, at which Badfinger performed, Harrison lost interest in the Straight Up project and did not return to it after the concert. Apple retained Todd Rundgren to finish the album. Rundgren utilised recordings begun by both Emerick and Harrison, re-recorded some of them, and also recorded several new tracks with the band (notably “Baby Blue”) in less than a month. Although production credit for individual songs on the album is given to both Rundgren and Harrison, Rundgren did the final mix of the entire album (and was upset that he was given neither a co-production nor a mixing credit for any of the Harrison songs).

Other releases

Listening Trend

15,550listeners all time
193,128scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Top Listeners