In Visible Silence

Release date
Running length
11 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Opus 4 2:02 18,162
2 Paranoimia 6:42 17,649
3 Eye of a Needle 4:43 7,061
4 Legs 3:29 16,595
5 Slip of the Tongue 1:29 3,830
6 Backbeat 4:12 4,128
7 Instruments of Darkness 3:38 5,065
8 Peter Gunn (feat. Duane Eddy) 3:56 1,444
9 Camilla (The Old, Old Story) 7:24 1,906
10 The Chameleon's Dish 4:16 1,350
11 Beatback 1:19 2,947

About this album

In Visible Silence is the second full-length release by group Art of Noise, and the first created by members Anne Dudley, J.J. Jeczalik and Gary Langan in the wake of their departure from the ZTT record label which had been the home of the group’s genesis.

They had minor UK chart success with the singles “Legs,” “Paranoimia” (the single version featuring a sample performance by virtual television personality Max Headroom) and “Peter Gunn.” A concert performance of the album, together with earlier hits, was recorded in Hammersmith, London and released on VHS and laserdisc in 1987.

The original CD edition added the 6:01 extended version of “Peter Gunn as a bonus track. Some CD editions of the album replaced the original version of “Paranoimia” with the single version featuring Max Headroom. Later reissues also feature the extended Twang Remix of “Peter Gunn” as a bonus track.

A 1986 remix album, Re-Works of Art of Noise, collected the singles from In Visible Silence, plus live versions of “Legs,” “Paranoimia” and “Backbeat” (retitled “Hammersmith To Tokyo And Back”). This album was included with limited editions of In Visible Silence.

Other releases

Listening Trend

8,099listeners all time
98,852scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • SandroDaCruz

    First album I ever bought, absolute 80's classic.

    24 Jul 2011 Reply
  • Sonni16

    Einfach ein Meisterwerk!!!

    13 Mar 2011 Reply
  • Mikeh97

    Art of Noise was at the height of their powers with this album. The perfect blend of sampler weirdness, catchy pop rhythms and jazzy sophistication. Unfortunately they went way off the rails after this.

    5 Feb 2011 Reply
  • lhb1

    I agree. Shouting it now.

    11 Jul 2010 Reply
  • Bleach00

    No shouts? This album is a masterpeice!

    17 Jul 2008 Reply

Top Listeners