Slag Records
Release date
18 Nov 2011
Running length
10 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels) 4:48 651,564
2 Neighborhood #2 (Laika) 3:32 233,704
3 Une année sans lumiere 3:41 101,615
4 Neighborhood #3 (Power Out) 5:12 605,888
5 Neighborhood #4 (7 Kettles) 4:49 508,703
6 Crown of Love 4:42 565,275
7 Wake Up 5:35 736,291
8 Haiti 4:07 488,426
9 Rebellion (Lies) 5:10 769,862
10 In the Backseat 6:20 493,445

About this album

Funeral is the debut full-length album by Canadian indie rock band Arcade Fire, released on September 14, 2004 in North America by Merge Records and on February 28, 2005 in Europe by Rough Trade Records. It was given its title because several band members had recently lost members of their families: Régine Chassagne’s grandmother died in June 2003, Win and William Butler’s grandfather (swing musician Alvino Rey) in March 2004, and Richard Reed Parry’s aunt in April 2004.

Preliminary recordings for Funeral were made during the course of a week in August 2003 at the Hotel2Tango in Montreal, Quebec, and the recording was completed later that year.

The album produced 5 singles. The most successful, “Rebellion (Lies)”, peaked at #19 on the UK Singles Chart. The album was nominated for a Grammy Award in 2005 for Best Alternative Music Album. It received wide critical acclaim and topped many year-end lists. It was ranked eighth in Bob Mersereau’s 2007 book The Top 100 Canadian Albums, and #2 on Pitchfork’s 200 Top Albums of the 2000s

Initial critical response to Funeral was very positive. At Metacritic, which assigns a normalized rating out of 100 to reviews from mainstream critics, the album has received an average score of 90, based on 30 reviews. Allmusic reviewer James Christopher Monger gave the album a rating of four and a half stars out of five.

Other releases

Listening Trend

815,757listeners all time
24,436,039scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • AarontheIndie

    To call this masterpiece is a masterpiece would be a gross understatement.

    2 Dec 2014 Reply
  • GackTMN

    it's okay

    19 Nov 2014 Reply
  • Funky-Shit-

    10/10 Masterpiece

    12 Nov 2014 Reply
  • muerto14


    23 Sep 2014 Reply
  • ollyh18

    Happy belated birthday to my all-time favourite album!

    17 Sep 2014 Reply
  • MellotronY

    i listened to this album a lot when i was like 7 years old. so many thanks to my dad, for being into this instead of some shit like the eagles.

    15 Sep 2014 Reply
  • lfelipecosta

    Timeless album.

    15 Sep 2014 Reply
  • lfelipecosta

    Happy Birthday to this perfect and life-changing album. Love you guys! <3

    15 Sep 2014 Reply
  • Illest_Villain

    Happy B-day, what an album...

    14 Sep 2014 Reply
  • Elenlille

    Happy 10th birthday! This album and my university years will always be together in my mind...

    14 Sep 2014 Reply
  • WS9167

    Happy birthday!

    14 Sep 2014 Reply
  • yinxianghecheng

    Happy Birthday to my all-time favorite album!

    14 Sep 2014 Reply
  • target-uk

    Happy 10th Birthday!

    14 Sep 2014 Reply
  • capriccioso_

    happy birthday to the bestest of all albuns

    12 Sep 2014 Reply
  • emergingsynergy

    "Famously crafted in the aftermath of multiple deaths in band members’ families, Funeral is the sound of desperately finite people channeling infinite sadness, mustering every last ounce of passion and earnestly blasting it to the far reaches of the universe. Whatever you’re dealing with, this music will sweep you up and carry you away with it. Somehow, it converts that pain and confusion into reverie."

    12 Sep 2014 Reply
  • emergingsynergy

    This album came out at a perfect time in my imperfect life, and I was fortunate to have seen the band up close on the ensuing tour and again a year later in what were moving performances (one of which I have as a bootleg recording)..... I remember, indeed, playing the disk in my car full of dear scuba friends on a scuba-road trip during which we learned of the accidental death of one of our own in a car accident. There was something mysteriously connected in the music and lyrics of this masterpiece, so much of it subtle or subliminal. Here is a review from Stereogum, commemorating the anniversary, Funeral Turns 10

    12 Sep 2014 Reply
  • miilena_cb

    idk, it reminds me of something that i miss, but i still don't know what it exactly is. (2)

    12 Sep 2014 Reply
  • MartianReaper

    10/10. End of discussion. [12]

    10 Sep 2014 Reply
  • thaisquecida

    i keep such an affection for this album down in my heart. idk, it reminds me of something that i miss, but i still don't know what it exactly is.

    9 Sep 2014 Reply
  • jvcamargo

    This album is a fucking amazing masterpiece

    8 Sep 2014 Reply
  • All 454 shouts