Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


(2008 – present)

Apparatjik (pronounced /æpəˈrætʃɪk/ ap-ə-RAT-chik) is a supergroup formed in 2008 that consists of bassist Guy Berryman from Coldplay, guitarist/keyboardist Magne Furuholmen (Magne F) from a-ha, singer/guitarist Jonas Bjerre of Mew and producer Martin Terefe. The band’s name literal translation is ‘agent of the apparatus’. Apparatjik stans for apparatchik, which is a word of Russian origin and is used to describe ‘people who cause bureaucratic bottlenecks in otherwise efficient organisations’.

The band first came together for a charity album for Survival International called Amazon Tribe: Songs for Survival. The album wads produced by Martin Terefe and Molly Oldfield, and the band produced the first track on the album, “Ferreting”. This track was used as the theme music for the Amazon series on BBC 2. Subsequently they continued to work together in Magne Furuholmen’s studio in Norway, and created more tracks that were periodically made available on their MySpace and Youtube pages. They also have a complex website, through which they released various videos and song snippets. They have an alliance with the “Eye On Committee” and aim to bring fans into their world, “inside the cube”, in their uniquely odd way by claiming “you too can be an Apparatjik”. On 30 November, they released the first official track, “Electric Eye”, from their then-upcoming album through their website.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

27,631listeners all time
640,137scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Top Listeners