Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Apoptygma Berzerk


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Norway (1989 – present)

Apoptygma Berzerk is a Norwegian // musical group, formed in 1989. The current lineup includes Stephan Groth (vocals, programming, guitars, samples), Brandon Smith (guitars) and Thomas Jakobsen (drums). The group has achieved moderate commercial success with a unique brand of gloomy, danceable gothic , winning awards and Top-10 spots in Germany and Scandinavia. The band’s name is commonly abbreviated to APOP or APB.

In 1989, Stephan Groth and Jon Erik Martinsen formed Apoptygma Berzerk in Norway. They wrote several songs, one of them “Ashes To Ashes” would later be released as a 12” single on the Norwegian label Tatra Productions in 1991. Martinsen left the band shortly afterwards feeling uncomfortable with the direction of the band’s music. Since then the band had many lineup changes, Groth being the only constant members.

Stephan Groth claims that the band name was randomly picked out of a dictionary. Apoptygma is an old Greek word for the fold of a woman’s garment. Technically the ‘y’ ought to be pronounced like a long ‘u’, but the band’s name is commonly pronounced a-pop-TIG-ma or a-pop-TEEG-ma.

Apoptygma Berzerk released six studio albums so far: Soli Deo Gloria in 1993, 7 in 1996, Welcome To Earth in 2000, Harmonizer in 2002, You and Me Against the World in 2005, and Rocket Science in 2009.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

236,942listeners all time
8,278,770scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • RuthiLikesMusic

    I've finally found time to listen through their discography. Listened to Harmonizer, Soli Deo Gloria and 7. Harmonizer is pretty weak, has got 4 better tracks out of the whole, tracks Unicorn and Until the End of the World are really good though. Soli Deo Gloria was their first album, it was a-ok, had some good material. 7 is brilliant, I'm sure it is their best work but I am going to listen to the other albums now so we will see.

    4 hours ago Reply
  • skinnydrifter

    I'm interested in this new experimental EP i want it

    4 Apr 12:58am Reply
  • limpicatto

    "Whatever system that is trying to control you or take advantage of you, stop feeding it."

    18 Feb 5:05pm Reply
  • exeter232

    I'm a little late to their party, but I'm enjoying it all now.

    26 Jan 6:28am Reply
  • Alphaville73

    Major Tom (Coming Home) (Technomancer feat. Angst Pop Remix) <3 zajebista wersja !!!

    7 Jan 7:24pm Reply
  • Neon_Spadezzz

    Still! I love Major Tom! Yay! <3

    2 Dec 2013 Reply
  • prime1128


    1 Oct 2013 Reply
  • CommunionAD

    Apoptygma Berzerk is featured on our Sept 30th show - This week Communion After Dark spins new music from Aesthetische, Solitary Experiments, Velvet Acid Christ and more! Listen now:

    30 Sep 2013 Reply
  • skinnydrifter

    The new VNV song "Retaliate" is brilliant. Free download too.

    23 Sep 2013 Reply
  • limpicatto

    This is the video of Major Tom:

    13 Sep 2013 Reply
  • Neon_Spadezzz

    I really like the new song! It sounds good!

    13 Sep 2013 Reply
  • de-luxe

    Major Tom (Coming Home) <3

    4 Sep 2013 Reply
  • loomia

    Major Tom ♥

    4 Sep 2013 Reply
  • skinnydrifter

    Major Tom is cool!

    1 Sep 2013 Reply
  • N1ghtFly

    They played their version of Major Tom Sunday on the M'era Luna festival. It was great, goosebumps to no end as the whole crowd was singing along! Although it was funny how he sang english and the crowd continued in german: "Earth below...." "VON DER ERDE!" xD

    13 Aug 2013 Reply
  • HeadcaseFargone

    Was reluctant to listen to Major Tom as the originals (both versions) are among my favorite songs. Nailed it.

    12 Aug 2013 Reply
  • tripodthunder

    So that news article I just read was wrong because you can buy the new single Major Tom on amazon right now, released today, very cool!

    9 Aug 2013 Reply
  • tripodthunder

    Release date appears to be August 23rd and a new album on his own new record label appears to be coming in the future too. Great news!

    9 Aug 2013 Reply
  • RuthiLikesMusic

    The brand new Major Tom cover showed up on Spotify, it's great!

    7 Aug 2013 Reply
  • skinnydrifter

    v accurate

    25 Jun 2013 Reply
  • All 1020 shouts