Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Helsinki, Finland (1993 – present)

Apocalyptica is a band from Helsinki, Finland consisting of three classically-trained cellists and a drummer. Their speciality is heavy metal music on cellos, though they also play classical music.

They started in 1993 by playing covers of Metallica, but once the concept became popular they wrote their own original works, maintaining the thrash metal influences on their albums Inquisition Symphony (mainly covers as well) and Cult. Since Reflections they have added drums to their recordings and live performances.

Eicca Toppinen - Cello
Perttu Kivilaakso - Cello
Paavo Lötjönen - Cello
Mikko Sirén - Drums

Former members:
Sami Kuoppamäki - Session Drums
Perttu Kivilaakso - Cello (1995)
Antero Manninen – Cello (1996–1999, usually plays live)
Max Lilja – Cello (1996–2002, when he joined Hevein)
Dave Lombardo - Drums (2003-2004, from the band Slayer. Also contributed drums on the songs Betrayal/Forgiveness, Last Hope and 2010 from 7th Symphony)


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

1,164,556listeners all time
50,943,159scrobbles all time
#481 in last week’s chart
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Alice_Raven

    cold blood <3

    18 Feb 12:37pm Reply
  • al_solaris

    just awesome

    17 Feb 8:43am Reply
  • anhell23

    cold blood is awesome

    15 Feb 1:18pm Reply
  • ringwraith10

    Wow, 1,159,658 listeners! I didn't realize this band had gotten so popular over the years. It seems like yesterday that I was first discovering them with their Metallica covers. Of course, back then I was in college, weighed about 100 lbs., and didn't have any plans for my future. Those were the good days...

    20 Jan 10:54pm Reply
  • Sanity_Theorist

    Only they actually somehow made it good, haha

    31 Dec 2014 Reply
  • Rose-Amaranthe

    ♥ Not Strong Enough ♥ Broken Pieces ♥

    25 Dec 2014 Reply
  • Tarjever

    Apocalyptica+Angry Birds... The world's going crazy! -_-

    24 Dec 2014 Reply
  • Sanity_Theorist

    New single is amazing. [3] More progressive in structure than they normally do on guest vocal tracks, too!

    24 Dec 2014 Reply
  • terzzii

    New single is amazing. [2]

    18 Dec 2014 Reply
  • gotikin

    New single is amazing.

    17 Dec 2014 Reply
  • wayrams


    13 Dec 2014 Reply
  • Sanity_Theorist

    @akisaini1996 Ah, I confused the audio for who appeared in the video. Yeah, it's Adam Gontier of Three Days Grace...hard to mistake his voice, even back in the Groundswell days.

    13 Dec 2014 Reply
  • tfaaon

    The angry birds song is really good, IMO

    4 Dec 2014 Reply
  • IRL174099

    I hope the new album does not have cello post-grunge crap like the last two albums.

    12 Oct 2014 Reply
  • c16B61

    Они ахуенны.

    10 Oct 2014 Reply
  • LinVia9

    I'm not Jesus ,I don't care , Sos anything but love & Not strong enough <3 they should really do more albums with vocals

    10 Oct 2014 Reply
  • efkan61

    Apocalyptica - Farewell harika

    6 Oct 2014 Reply
  • renatabenia

    The new album is awesome. I'm love ♥

    28 Sep 2014 Reply
  • wayrams


    22 Sep 2014 Reply
  • monhorreur


    21 Sep 2014 Reply
  • All 3361 shouts