Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Aphrodite's Child


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Aphrodite’s Child was a Greek rock band formed in 1968 by vocalist/bassist Demis Roussos, multi-instrumentalist Evangelos (Vangelis) Papathanassiou and drummer Lucas Sideras. After a failed attempt to enter England, the band regrouped in Paris, where guitarist Anargyros “Silver” Koulouris was added to their line-up (although he would be forced to leave the band to perform military service, with guitar and bass both being played by Roussos during his absence).

The band’s first two albums, End of the World and It’s Five O’Clock, combined a very ’60s sounding Euro-pop-rock with Greek folk music elements. The former album featured the song “Rain and Tears”, a reworking of Pachelbel’s Canon in D major. The song was a minor hit in the United Kingdom, but did far better in France, where the band was based, as well as the rest of Europe. Other European hits included “Marie Jolie”, “I Want to Live”, and “Spring, Summer, Winter, and Fall” from 1969 and 1970 respectively.

The band began to record their crowning achievement in 1970: a musical adaptation of the biblical Book of Revelations, entitled 666 - The Apocalypse of St. John. Relations between Roussos, Vangelis and Sideras were not good at the time, and continued to worsen before the album’s creation. However, the group was contractually obligated to release a third album, and went into the studio in 1970 to create 666.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

94,916listeners all time
1,309,708scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • HaHaHaYoureDead

    хотя группа не бог весть что, честно говоря

    17 Jul 10:08pm Reply
  • HaHaHaYoureDead

    думаю, что ни вангелис, ни (тем более) демис руссос, круче в своей жизни ничего не сделали

    17 Jul 10:07pm Reply
  • BadButNotSad

    Aegian Sea is awesome!

    5 May 9:13pm Reply
  • zephranthes

    Loud, loud, loud, louuud

    6 Apr 1:22pm Reply
  • CyberMusicLover

    Gotta love the madness of Infinity! Makes you wonder what exactly is going on there!

    9 Jan 7:39am Reply
  • _YGor_

    Aegian Sea <3

    30 Oct 2013 Reply
  • BeGe_ro

    It seems the band split due to the different natures of Papathanassiou and Roussos. Vangelis was more and more oriented to introspective, psychologic music (as seen mainly in their last album) and less interested to mediatic noise. Roussos was more oriented to mainstream music, to popular success. Anyway they made one of the best troups of all times. Vangelis genius was thriving.

    6 Aug 2013 Reply
  • veggiecannibal2

    ...and then I turned on the TV yesterday and I saw and heard Demis Roussos sing "Goodbye my love, goodbye"...LOL! I was quite stunned about that. I am tolerant, so if anyone likes this, it's ok, but I still think it's a shame Aphrodite's Child split! Why did they split? I mean, "666" was great but I also like their other works. I just think they could have made some more awesome albums before they split. They didn't last long. What was the reason?

    15 Jun 2013 Reply
  • blebbio

    been a long time since i've heard a record that hits as hard as 666

    10 Jun 2013 Reply
  • starbearer-

    sometimes I have to skip a track or two but for the most part... some timeless priceless awesomeness.

    29 May 2013 Reply
  • veggiecannibal2

    I can't ever stop listening to "666", it's like the best psychedelic album, and believe me, I know more psychedelic albums than I scrobbeld here. Did you guys hear about there originally should have been a 60 minute version of "∞" (Infinity Symbol) and if that has ever been released? I want it!

    4 May 2013 Reply
  • Die_katzee

    New image~

    10 Apr 2013 Reply
  • jazzthieve

    Spotify Playlist: Classic Rock

    3 Apr 2013 Reply
  • veggiecannibal2

    Just bought "666", great album, that guitarist was awesome, whatever happened to him, did he record stuff with other bands as well?

    2 Mar 2013 Reply
  • Who_Scared_You

    i feel fantastic

    16 Feb 2013 Reply
  • gulmor

    Sucha great band.

    8 Feb 2013 Reply
  • totallyhipkd

    Can't believe I'm saying this but 4chan gave me something beneficial for once.

    7 Dec 2012 Reply
  • ifhgsfj

    The Battle of the Locust/Do It!/Tribulation confirmed for god-tier.

    21 Nov 2012 Reply
  • TimeToDie10

    Just listened to 666 straight through. Gonna need to listen a few more times to let it sink in.

    1 Sep 2012 Reply
  • AgentSamFisher

    They've gone to the end of the world. [2]

    3 Jul 2012 Reply
  • All 192 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners

Email Newsletter

Universal Music Group Get exclusive tour, release & promotion updates on Aphrodite's Child from Universal Music.