Skip to
YouTube video

Loading player…

Large artwork

Related Tags

The adventurous playing and writing on this reissue hint at both avant-garde jazz and 20th century classical music. Pianist/composer Anthony Davis (who wrote all of the music for the set) is joined by violinist Leroy Jenkins, cellist Abdul Wadud, and drummer Pheeroan akLaff on the three-part "Suite for Another World" and "Estraven," while taking "Of Blues and Dreams" as a solo piano feature. The music is episodic and somewhat cinematic, with some intriguing interplay among the musicians even… read more



Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

  • Avatar for bking12358
    just saw Anthony Davis in Los Angeles at REDCAT as part of the Calarts "Creative Music Festival" curated by Wadada Leo Smith... the 1st half of the night features Davis with his Episteme group which included, Cynthia Aaronson- Davis, soprano; Jonah Davis, voice; J.D. Paran, clarinet, contra-alto clarinet; Earl Howard, alto sax and synthesizer; Mark Dresser, bass; Anthony Davis, piano - it was their night, the music was inspired... this band was the highlight of the evening!

API Calls