Magic and Mayhem - Tales From the Early Years

Nuclear Blast
Release date
17 Sep 2010
Running length
13 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Amorphis - Magic And Mayhem 4:26 48,409
2 Amorphis - Vulgar Necrolatry 4:21 30,069
3 Amorphis - Into Hiding 3:44 57,974
4 Various Artists - Black Winter Day (Magic And Mayhem - Tales From The Early Years) 3:54 1
5 Amorphis - On Rich and Poor 5:18 38,515
6 Amorphis - Exile of the Sons of Uisliu 3:56 36,624
7 Amorphis - The Castaway 5:31 52,781
8 Amorphis - Song of the Troubled One 4:07 34,071
9 Amorphis - Sign From The North Side 5:03 24,231
10 Amorphis - Drowned Maid 4:22 55,410
11 Amorphis - Against Widows 4:05 43,198
12 Amorphis - My Kantele 5:00 52,470
13 Amorphis - Light My Fire 2:44 19,928

About this album

Magic & Mayhem - Tales from the Early Years is a compilation album by the Finnish heavy metal band Amorphis, released on September 15, 2010 in Finland. It’s a collection of re-recorded and partially re-arranged songs from their first three studio albums. In addition, the limited edition includes a cover of The Doors song “Light My Fire” as a bonus.

Majority of the vocals is performed by Tomi Joutsen. Vocal performances by Tomi Koivusaari also appear for the first time since 1997.

Other releases

Listening Trend

9,102listeners all time
155,083scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • PootyMunster13

    These songs sound so much better with Tomi Joutsen singing them...

    28 Dec 2013 Reply
  • fuelbomb

    Listening to this album makes me want to hear the entirety of Elegy with Tomi Joutsen on vocals.

    12 Dec 2013 Reply
  • schmaecky

    This is a worthwhile re-recording! Nothing gay. And "gay" is an ueber-stupid valuation BTW

    3 Mar 2011 Reply
  • nightwatch79

    The remakes of the old tracks, are great.. but ones the old songs, are still amazing and awesome. And looking forward to the tracks, from this album live at november

    17 Oct 2010 Reply
  • auringoksi

    Tajusin vasta nyt tämän levyn olemassaolon ja uaah, juuri tätä olen toivonutkin! Vanhojen biisien parhaimmistoa Joutsenen upeilla vokaaleilla, ei voi mennä vikaan.

    11 Oct 2010 Reply
  • DDarkworker

    It sounds really good and I really like it. Black Winter Day sounds a bit more brutal on the original, but still I have no complains.

    5 Oct 2010 Reply
  • bloodrink

    Perfect instrumentals, way too much death vocal

    4 Oct 2010 Reply
  • o0nefertem0o

    Amazing work!! Didn't expect it would be this great! =D!!!

    3 Oct 2010 Reply
  • LordsOfTheStorm

    What happened to the OSDM sound of 'The Karelian Ithsmus'? The old school guitar tone is butchered, and the haunting doomy melodies are too sterile. The songs from 'Tales' lack the heaviness and atmosphere too...

    1 Oct 2010 Reply
  • Denerion

    Dobre jest!;)

    29 Sep 2010 Reply
  • OprisOvidiu

    This collection of re-recorded songs is one of their greatest achievements. I've always been mesmerized by their first 3 albums but I've never been fond of the vocals, but after their last 3 albums with Tomi Joutsen and now this I can pretty much say that we would see great things from now on from this amazing band.

    28 Sep 2010 Reply
  • Arlzheim

    actually this is what i was waiting for... always liked the old songs... but i liked the "new interpretations" live very much, too... especially because there is not so much growling on the new albums... Amazing work :)

    27 Sep 2010 Reply
  • lconoclast

    im referring to the track

    24 Sep 2010 Reply
  • lconoclast

    magic and mayhem re-done is pretty awesome, but i wanted more electronics.

    24 Sep 2010 Reply
  • -SadButcher-

    Same here stop admiring the past and do something new that good.

    24 Sep 2010 Reply
  • unholydeath

    Re-recordings are epitome of gayness. NO SUPPORT!

    23 Sep 2010 Reply
  • Borellus_

    The death vox in Amorphis have always been very mediocre

    23 Sep 2010 Reply
  • Censeo

    I love it =D

    23 Sep 2010 Reply
  • SwampedInGore92

    Its so amazing. Every track is so good.

    22 Sep 2010 Reply
  • VerkkoVirta

    excellent re-recordings. [2]

    21 Sep 2010 Reply
  • All 38 shouts

Top Listeners