Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


South Korea (1998 – present)

Seo Taiji (born Jeong Hyeon-Cheol on February 21, 1972) is a South Korean singer and musician. As a cultural comparison, Taiji’s levels of popularity in Korea is analogous to the popularity of Michael Jackson in the mid-1980s.

At the age of 14, Jeong Hyeon-Cheol (Taiji) participated in several amateur rock bands. In 1990, at the age of 17, he was recruited into the underground metal group Sinawe (pronounced shee-nah-wee). Taiji chose to drop out of school, a system that he felt did nothing but corrupt the minds of youth, and became a professional musician.

After the break up of Sinawe in 1991, Taiji switched gears and formed the dance group Seo Tai-ji and Boys (Seo Taiji and Boys) with dancers Lee Ju-no and Yang Hyeon-seok.

The introduction of the first Seo Taiji and Boys album announced a complete shift in the focus of popular Korean music that is still felt today. Their first single, “Nan Arayo” (난 알아요, “I Know”) was a hugely successful hit, being one of the first songs in K-Pop to meld contemporary dance sounds with urban-influenced rap lyrics.

Seo Tai-ji and Boys broke up in 1996 after four wildly successful studio and two hugely popular live albums. Tai-ji disappeared from the music scene for the next two years, moving to New York City, living a low profile life, and working on his come-back.

In 1998, Taiji returned to the music scene with his first solo album, Seo Tai-ji. His self-produced album continued with his long established sound of mixing contemporary American rock and pop music with Korean vocals. His comeback album, while not a huge success, put him back onto the path of greatness.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

15,048listeners all time
1,044,797scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • jakobdorof

    a love letter:

    3 hours ago Reply
  • jakobdorof

    "" is brilliant because it takes everything lame - polka, nu metal, christmas and halloween music, laserstep, rap breakdowns - and puts them together to make something incredible.

    Yesterday 6:25pm Reply
  • TrentReznor-

    I find the album a bit meh...I'd give it being generous 6.5/10...despite a couple of songs (mainly the 2 singles) dont find any "memorable" moments on it...I have the feeling that in 1-2 years this album will be completely forgoten by people. In my opinion the worst of his releases by far...felt like a chance missed because with this new style he could have done something much more interesing. Just hope he doesn't disappear for another 4-5 after the tour, we need more from him :)

    22 Oct 1:41am Reply
  • jakobdorof

    "" is literally flawless. Wow. He's genius. [2] one of the top two or three k-pop masterpieces of the year.

    21 Oct 9:24pm Reply
  • KoreanGDream

    소격동 is so powerful, I can't explain what it does, but it does very well.

    21 Oct 8:58am Reply
  • eplizo

    "Quiet Night" is literally a masterpiece. Everything I wanted and more. So damn good.

    21 Oct 5:50am Reply
  • jakobdorof

    Quiet Night is one of the best korean albums i've ever heard.

    20 Oct 2:22pm Reply
  • subpain

    Quiet Night is fantastic. I love how chilled some of the songs are this time around.

    19 Oct 11:51pm Reply
  • hanzou-sama's beat is sick <3 [2]

    19 Oct 7:14am Reply
  • BakayaroBaka ♥ [2]

    18 Oct 9:43am Reply
  • Arashio

    I WILL SEE HIM TODAY NKVJNKDNVKDNDKBN ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ ;; A ;; CAN'T WAIT FOR THE FULL ALBUM ♥

    18 Oct 4:20am Reply
  • skkukk ♥

    17 Oct 1:52pm Reply
  • rekluz

    michael jackson of Korea is finally back.

    17 Oct 10:50am Reply
  • HopingAngels's beat is sick <3

    16 Oct 6:49pm Reply
  • suyeonee

    내가 1등이넹ㅋㅋ

    15 Oct 10:05pm Reply
  • eplizo

    "" is literally flawless. Wow. He's genius. I cannot WAIT for the full album.

    15 Oct 3:20pm Reply
  • TrentReznor-

    the new cd is finally available for preorder!

    13 Oct 6:05am Reply
  • solnhofen서태지/+images/101484069 new pic vote plz

    10 Oct 3:17pm Reply
  • eplizo

    His rendition of "소격동" is absolute perfection. The MV is so well done too. So touching. It's so great to see him make a comeback.

    10 Oct 3:49am Reply
  • subpain

    The main photo is so bad. But it has so many up votes...

    8 Oct 7:22am Reply
  • All 586 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners