19 shouts

DFA Records is an independent record label, based out of New York City, with an exclusive distribution deal with major record label EMI, launched in September 2001 by Mo’ Wax co-founder Tim Goldsworthy, musician James Murphy and mutual friend Jonathan Galkin.

DFA Records began on a series of 12” single vinyl releases starting with The Rapture’s “House of Jealous Lovers” and The Juan Maclean’s “By The Time I Get To Venus”. Many of the early releases of DFA’s catalog were released in Europe through Output Recordings. The label has grown steadily since, inking distribution deals with EMI/Capitol and Astralwerks, and releasing a handful of full-length albums by its ever-growing roster of artists.

As a production team, the DFA have produced and remixed artists including Radio 4, Le Tigre, N.E.R.D., Soulwax, Blues Explosion, Nine Inch Nails, Automato, Gorillaz, UNKLE, and The Chemical Brothers. On their DFA label, Murphy and Goldsworthy have also produced and released music by The Rapture, The Juan Maclean, Black Dice, Shit Robot, Delia Gonzalez & Gavin Russom,J.O.Y., Pixeltan, Black Leotard Front, Hot Chip, and Murphy’s own project: LCD Soundsystem. The DFA frequently release compilation or remix albums featuring signed artists.

DFA Records recently started an imprint label entitled Death From Abroad. This offshot will release 12” singles by artists not based in North America, such as Mock & Toof, Gucci Soundsystem, Bot’Ox, and Altz.

Top Albums

See more


Leave a comment. Log in to Last.fm or sign up (it’s free).
See all 19 shouts