UK Post-Rock Compilation Series

• UK Post-Rock Compilation Series

I'm just beginning to think about compiling volume six in my legendary series of UK post-rock compilations. For this volume, I want to only use bands that have not appeared on any previous volume in the series. This means picking songs by a lot of bands I'm not that familiar with, so I'm looking for suggestions. If you have a favourite song by any of the following bands, please let me know. And if you could send me links to MP3s of the songs you suggest, that would be fantastic too.

The bands I'm particularly interested in are:

Bows
    Bracken
    Broadcast
    Crescent
    Deadstock ("Monophonic Man" is great but I don't have an MP3)
    Echoboy ("Canada"?)
    Electrelane
    Experimental Audio Research ("California Nocturne"?)
    Foehn
    Ganger
    l i ght
    Navigator
    Rothko

Edited by connect_icut on 27 Oct 2010, 18:10
    • [Deleted user] said...
    • User
    • 7 Jan 2010, 17:38
    I'm only "up" on one of those bands - Broadcast. And I would go for something right at the start of their career - 'Accidentals' if you can find it. Their first recording on Wurlitzer Jukebox (great label).

• [Deleted user] said...
    • User
    • 8 Jan 2010, 10:03
    Haven't heard Rothko in long time now, but 'A Negative for Francis' is a fabulous album. If you like bass guitars, then you'll feel in heaven.
    Maybe 'Windows Doors and Other Openings' could be a good choise?

• 'Accidentals' is definitely as good a Broadcast track as any but 'Ominous Cloud' (from HaHa Sound) or 'Echo's Answer' and 'Come On Let's Go' (from the Noise Made by People) are worth considering too.

For Bows, I'd suggest 'Girls Lips Glitter' or 'It'll Be Half Time In England Soon' (from Blush) or 'Uniroyal' (from Cassidy).

Electrelane's 'To The East' (from No Shouts No Calls) is my personal favourite but you want a classic older one, go for 'Gabriel'.