Ritual Melodic Dark Ambient - your suggestions

• muhmood said...
    • User
    • 11 Jun 2009, 12:00

Ritual Melodic Dark Ambient - your suggestions

... i was asked if there are dark ambient projects that play a more rythmic, structured, ritual music - like Herbst9, please add your suggestions here
    ... i find it quite challenging cause there are bands who have dark ambient elements, but once they apply rythm they get more on the side of industrial or neofolk or tribal...

i would say:
    :Golgatha:
    Omenya
    Ruhr Hunter
    Mimetic & Origami Galaktika
    Sephiroth
    Karjalan Sissit
    Coph Nia

not so dark ambient, but quite interesting melodic, folk based -
    Moon Far Away

being a musician myself, i hate to stick labels/tags but in cases like this they do help - one of my most favorite albums that is quite a great example of "melodic-not-so-abstract-dark-ambient" - Sleeping In The Sleep by Lunar Abyss Quartet

Edited by muhmood on 11 Jun 2009, 23:55
    • smpcln said...
    • User
    • 11 Jun 2009, 13:41
    Thanx too much!

• I've been listening to Mondblut as of late, and they play a somewhat folk influenced "melodic" dark ambient, and I think they do a good job of it. Though I wouldn't consider them as "ritualistic" as the name implies, they make great melodic ambient nevertheless.

I've especially noticed that ambient side projects of metal band members are usually more melodic in structure.

Some other projects to look into:
    Aere Aeternus
    Arkane
    IHVHLXXII of China.

And my favourite, 舟沢虫雄, a very underrated Japanese Butoh performer making beautiful experimental/melodic dark/drone ambient. Some of his songs are free to take from last.fm.

~

Edited by NekroReaper on 11 Jun 2009, 14:29
  • Ulf Söderberg Which is also Sephiroth
    Tzolk'in Not really Dark Ambient but some really nice ambient sounds, and more industrial tribal beats.

• [Deleted user] said...
    • User
    • 11 Jun 2009, 19:29