So who plays mandolin here?

• [Deleted user] said...
    • User
    • 21 Jan 2007, 16:31

So who plays mandolin here?

Just thought I'd ask who plays or is learning to play mandolin here.

Personally I began playing early last year.

I was thinking if anyone has any good suggestions - websites, DVDs, books etc. - that they know of that might be of interest to those playing maybe they could post it here.

• [Deleted user] said...
    • User
    • 22 Jan 2007, 17:30
    I began playing in June!

• b-net said...
    • User
    • 5 Mar 2007, 22:07
    same i got one for christmas a couple of years ago

• I do!

• i've been playing since decemeber, but my mando is really cheap and crappy, i'd like a new one

• Last year I started playing after taking a break for a long time (almost a decade).

I recommend Steve Kaufman's books "20 bluegrass tunes every parking lot picker should know" They have tabs and notes for 3 different levels on every tune so you can really work your way up. Plus CD's so you can hear him ramble.

I started a blog to keep track of progress. you can hear my struggles here: http://nathansilvers.com/mando/

• b-net said...
    • User
    • 16 Apr 2007, 19:53
    hmm i'm not really interested in the bluesgrass element of the instrument i'm more into using it in places where it isnt heard a lot. At the moment i'm probably going to work it inot my mini rock opera based on the sand raiders from Star Wars :)

• oleway said...
    • User
    • 24 Apr 2007, 16:10
    I've been playing the mandolin for a bit over a year, and what an exciting instrument it is!

I agree with b-net; I like the mandolin used in rock and jazz music, even though bluegrass music often can be interesting.

• Sure!

I've been playing the mandolin since -95.

You can hear one of my bands, Krack (Swedish and Irish New Traditional Music) on MySpace if you like :-)

Hope to get our CD up here on last.fm soon...

Edited by smekis84 on 7 Aug 2008, 21:35
    • [Deleted user] said...