Can someone explain me?

• Can someone explain me?

Ok i download a Ubuntu version to PPC (because i don't have a comum pc, but a Mac PPC), but i don't istall it yet, looking in the internet i found something strange and start to think about it, so can someone tell me:

1-Linux have a "own" face? all the time i try to use Linux i see the same face (something about KDE and others faces?)?

2-Linux have something original or is just a "half-remake" of other operational systens? i mean, what is the diference in the security, speed, funcionality of Linux, i try to use a long time ago a distribution called "Conectiva Linux" but the driver resources like CD and Floopy disc don't realy work well.

3-To update a version of Linux it's necessary "re-install" the new version or Linux can update things like only the Kernel or especific parts?

Sorry ask it but i'm a little new in this "No-Windows" world.

• armands said...
    • User
    • 29 Dec 2006, 08:32
    1. The most common GUIs are KDE and Gnome, but there are others as well. For the begining I suggest you stick with one of those. By default Ubuntu comes with Gnome, KUbuntu with KDE.

2. There might be some driver issues for more "exotic" hardware but no problems with basic things like CD or floppy.

3. You can easily choose which libraries / modules you want to update.

• Realy?

Man it's cool know it, my retard teacher don't tell me this of Linux, he explain a little about KDE and GNOME faces, but not too much, but what mean this "exotic hardware"?

And it's good know about the update to, but if i have a Linux version 6.0 when if i do all the updates he altomatic goes to the next version? 7.0 for example, or i need reinstall to get it?

• armands said...
    • User
    • 29 Dec 2006, 13:06