applescript folksonomy (genre tagger)

• t-spoon said...
    • User
    • 25 May 2007, 20:57

applescript folksonomy (genre tagger)

Ever wish you could get your music library organized so you could make some really clever smartplaylists and be all smooth and Web 2.0? This script will get you closer. Looking at allmusic guide's genre suggestions got you scratching your head? Let the community decide.

This script uses the artist top tags feed. The very top tag is assigned to genre while other popular tags are placed in the comments field. It's a little slow, but it's faster than doing the work manually. It crashes is Last.fm doesn't like the way you've got the artist tag. Not sure this isn't in the feature bin as it will point out to you tracks that can't be succesfully scrobbled. (clean up your tags!)Suggestings to stream-line would be appreciated. I am an XML novice. Oh, I borrowed big chunks of code from a script on the web i found here.

Here's the source:

tell application "iTunes"
    if selection = {} then
    display dialog "You must select one or more tracks first." buttons {"Cancel"} default button 1 with icon 1
    end if
    set trackList to selection
    set lastartist to ""
    set lastgenre to ""
    set lastcomment to ""
    repeat with i from 1 to count of trackList
    set thisTrack to item i of trackList
    set theartist to artist of thisTrack

set genre of thisTrack to ""
    set comment of thisTrack to ""
    set thiscomment to ""

if theartist = lastartist then
    set genre of thisTrack to lastgenre
    set comment of thisTrack to lastcomment
    else
    set theurl to "http://ws.audioscrobbler.com/1.0/artist/"; & my encode_text(theartist) & "/toptags.xml"

set tags to {}

set thexml to do shell script "curl " & theurl
    if thexml does not start with "No artist exists with this name:" then

tell application "System Events"
    delete every XML data
    set this_data to make new XML data with properties {name:"toptags", text:thexml}