Any Jazz Pianists in here?

• Any Jazz Pianists in here?

Does anyone in here play piano, or just like listening to it? I myself have been classically trained to play the piano. I rely heavily on sheet music though. Wondering if anyone here has advice for someone like me who'd like to start playing without sheet music, and learn some jazz =)

• Here I am...

I play drums (both rock and jazz) and piano (both classical and jazz)... Well, I'm still studying and the road is very long, but this doesn't matter.
    I think you should begin from simple harmonic rules of jazz (which are based on classical harmony), chords, and so on. Then begin with simple tunes from the Real Book (eg Satin Doll, Just Friends) that contain the 2-5-1 cadence (D-, G7, Cmaj7, and so on). About improvisation, the notes are those of the chord, the style can be learned by experience and listening (try to look for recordings of the standards you'd like to play, write down the solos and play them).

This is a very little "vademecum" for the first months of learning/playing, I think... Anyway I suggest to look for a teacher. Be sure to go with a good teacher, not only a good player, so ask to a lot of people before taking a decision.

I hope you've understood what I wanted to explain, my english is not really good.

Good Luck!

The heart is where the music is. (Keith Jarrett)
    • mm_Aa said...
    • User
    • 12 Jan 2006, 15:03

Mark Levine's Book

I would really recommend Mark's "Jazz Piano Book" (

It's the best jazz piano book I've ever seen.

• Advice

I'm a jazz pianist studying at the university level now and, well, here is some advice: