• stilicho said...
    • Subscriber
    • 8 Mar 2005, 20:14

Connections

Howdy, what a great idea for a forum. I was thinking about starting one for "loopy lyrics" but this might cover it.

FYI, I found this through the HBMS connection.

Some connections you should probably add:
    Nellie McKay
    Lederhosen Lucil

I also sometimes laugh out loud at White Stripes lyrics -- especially on Elephant.

• szarka said...
    • User
    • 5 Apr 2005, 14:29
    Forgot to reply to this... I checked out Lederhosen Lucil and added her. Thanks for the suggestion!

Who is Nellie McKay?

• Jayaism said...
    • User
    • 3 May 2005, 20:07
    I think you need to add Ben Folds. And Ben Folds Five.

I plot for a living.
    ratnerstar said: I like to pretend I'm Humphrey Bogart. Except I'm pretty sure he only shits bullets.
    • Jayaism said...
    • User
    • 3 May 2005, 20:08
    And Of Montreal. Just download "Tim, I wish you born a girl" and see.

I plot for a living.
    ratnerstar said: I like to pretend I'm Humphrey Bogart. Except I'm pretty sure he only shits bullets.
    • Jayaism said...
    • User
    • 3 May 2005, 20:09
    One more... Barenaked Ladies. Kinda given, but still.

I plot for a living.
    • stilicho said...
    • Subscriber
    • 6 May 2005, 08:10

Re:

Quoth szarka:
    Forgot to reply to this... I checked out Lederhosen Lucil and added her. Thanks for the suggestion!

Who is Nellie McKay?

Somehow I missed this. Nellie McKay is a ... phenomenal genre-mixer. She does piano/lounge stuff but she also raps and rocks out (to the extent the instruments let her). She does ballads, but she also does really funny, biting songs like "Sari":

I'm sorry for the mess
    The stupid way I'm dressed
    I guess I failed my test
    Oh don't you know I'm sorry for my views
    I musta been confused
    And yet you know that really I'm ... sorry for you

"It's a Pose" (about guys)
    When you leave you are missed
    Fellas can't you see I'm pissed