• Dear M.I.A., thanks for Coachella

    25 May 2009, 17:13 by Niksterg11

    http://nikgomez.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/coachella_mia_stagestand.jpg

    “They tried to make me do the Oscars, I said ‘No, No, No’.” Of all the banter M.I.A. threw into her hour-long set on the Main Stage at this year’s Coachella, this was probably the most pointed. When Amy Winehouse dropped off the lineup because she couldn’t get a Visa to the United States (surprise, surprise), M.I.A. was quickly announced to be her replacement. In my mind, there could be no better choice. I’ve missed the chance to see M.I.A. twice now, and I made sure not to pass her up again.

    continue reading...
  • Coachella '09 Live List

    2 May 2009, 08:20 by R-o-k-u

    Fri 17 Apr – Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival

    Fri. 17
    Switch
    El Gran Silencio
    Dear and the Headlights ☆☆☆
    Alberta Cross
    The Courteeners
    The Aggrolites ☆☆
    Noah & the Whale
    People Under the Stairs
    Molotov
    The Airborne Toxic Event
    Los Campesinos!
    M. Ward ☆
    White Lies ☆
    Conor Oberst ☆
    Franz Ferdinand
    Leonard Cohen
    Beirut ☆☆☆
    Silversun Pickups
    Paul Mccartney ☆☆

    Sat. 18
    P.O.S.
    Ida Maria
    Cloud Cult
    Billy Talent
    Liars
    Joss Stone ☆
    Drive-By Truckers
    Superchunk ☆☆☆
    Michael Franti & Spearhead
    Calexico ☆☆
    TV on the Radio ☆
    Fleet Foxes ☆
    Band of Horses
    M.I.A ☆
    Jenny Lewis ☆☆☆
    The Killers ☆☆

    Sun. 19
    Vivian Girls
    Themselves
    No Age
    Friendly Fires ☆☆
    Okkervil River
    The Gaslight Anthem
    Lupe Fiasco ☆
    Peter Bjorn and John
    Antony and the Johnsons ☆☆
    X
    Paul Weller ☆☆☆
    My Bloody Valentine ☆☆
    Public Enemy
    The Cure
    Throbbing Gristle ☆
  • Coachella 2009

    24 Apr 2009, 08:35 by greenplastic875

    Fri 17 Apr – Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival

    This is rather a grade review of each act I saw at Coachella since I'm too busy to come up with a detailed review. Maybe in the near future I will attempt to write but as for now, a letter-grade review would suffice.

    Friday:

    I was planning on catching Dear and the Headlights as well as Gui Boratto early on the day, but the traffic on Monroe was so bad that I got to the venue around 3.

    People Under The Stairs: A-
    Hold Steady: A-
    Black Keys: B
    Franz Ferdinand: B
    Leonard Cohen: A+
    Beirut: A
    Paul McCartney: A

    Saturday:

    Ida Maria: B+
    Liars: B-
    bits of the new02: D
    Dr. Dog: C
    Henry Rollins: B-
    bits of Amanda Palmer: A-
    Tinariwen: A+
    Thievery Corporation: A
    Band of Horses: A-
    Chemical Brothers: C
    Gang Gang Dance: B+

    Sunday:
    No Age: A
    Okkervil River: B+
    Gaslight Anthem: B
    Lykke Li: B+
    Antony and the Johnsons: A++
    Yeah Yeah Yeahs: A-
    My Bloody Valentine: A+
    The Orb: A
    Throbbing Gristle: A
    The Cure: A
  • Coachella 2009: Overkill aan kwaliteit met spectaculair slot.

    22 Apr 2009, 18:58 by hansvrijmoed

    Fri 17 Apr – Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival

    Na de reünies van de Pixies, Rage against the Machine en zoals vorig jaar nog de exclusieve show van Prince, schept Coachella steeds hogere verwachtingen. Geruchten genoeg voor zo'n legendarische naam (David Bowie, Bruce Springsteen, Faith No More), maar uiteindelijk kent deze editie van het driedaagse muziekfestival in Californië toch vooral bands die nooit echt zijn weggeweest. Of ze toeren - zoals Leonard Cohen en My Bloody Valentine - al sinds vorig jaar de wereld rond.

    Maar eigenlijk is er - op de slopende hitte na - niets te klagen op het uitgestrekte groene poloveld. Al is er altijd Morrissey , wiens show vooral vanwege zijn opmerkingen memorabel blijkt...

    Lees het hele verslag op KindaMuzik
  • Coachella '09 was THE best

    21 Apr 2009, 23:26 by PrincipeAzul

    Every single act i saw was in top form! not a single bad note, not a single flub, not a single moment of apprehension by any of the performers, and for me, during the whole weekend no more than a few moments spent w/o being high, drunk or rolling haha
    let's do this

    In order of appearance:
    Gui Boratto (Beautiful Life was beautiful!)
    Steve Aoki is a fuckin rockstar
    Buraka Som Sistema kick M.I.A.'s ass. plus those MCs, especially the female, have CRAZY moves. heaven in a tent.
    Beirut was magical. played ALL my favorite songs.
    Bajofondo is not my taste in music but their passion was exceptional. they were so inviting. and the accordian player was HOT.
    Paul McCartney. walking out friday night to a crowd of thousands singing the na na na part of Hey Jude was positively breathtaking.

    caught the end of the Liars, who made me cry
    Surkin is a chainsmoking, recordsmashing FIEND
    i sat outside the tent of Tinariwen and just closed my eyes and transcended
    Fleet Foxes was also transcendent. those voices? miraculous
  • Coachella 2009 Review

    21 Apr 2009, 19:24 by 01sundevil

    Fri 17 Apr – Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival

    Friday

    Alberta Cross – The singer has a great, kind of cracking voice. Good start to the day.

    Ryan Bingham – Caught a couple of this guy’s stompers. First fiddle sighting.

    The Aggrolites – Reggae rock. Did a Beatles cover. Already getting excited about the headliner.

    Noah & the Whale – Second fiddle sighting. These guys were pretty cool. Kind of sounded like an Irish band.

    We Are Scientists – I liked these guys. Fun, danceable rock. Good sense of humor during the banter between songs.

    The Airborne Toxic Event – This was the first band we were looking forward. They rocked the big stage nicely. Brought out a string quartet for a couple songs, including Sometime Around Midnight.

    The Hold Steady – We got into the tent in time for Stuck Between Stations. Awesome. We missed a bunch, but also got Stay Positive, Lord I’m Discouraged, Slapped Actress, and a few others. Wish I could have got a full set.
  • COACHELLA '09

    20 Apr 2009, 11:38 by InsultingIrony

    Fri 17 Apr – Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival

    I'm not even going to try and review this weekend in depth because that would be absolutely impossible.

    My highlights:

    MSTRKRFT w/ John Legend
    My Bloody Valentine (R.I.P. eardrums)
    Spending $50+ on food/water
    Public Enemy (I no longer look unfavorably towards Flavor Flav)
    Girl Talk on the raft
    Meeting Gaspard from Justice
    Having Gaspard sign the cross on my Justice shirt
    The light cube
    Crystal Method
    ETIENNE DE CRECY AND IT'S CUBE

    Mesh that with the random hookups, mass amount of drugs and alcohol, and that was easily one of my favorite weekends of all time.
  • #134 -- Akwardness Appeal Allure Awakening

    15 Feb 2009, 05:40 by Cloverbell

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bQjQyaK4pxs
    Cut Copy w/ Matt & Kim @ CiRCA (March 20th)

    Holy Shit!
    Have I got some news for you all.
    If I hadn't giggled so much this week I would've made much more room in my journal to take notice on the gigs happening this spring. HAAAA-Are you kidding me?! I'm spinning around in circles. I've said yes to so many opportunities I wonder if I can do it all!?

    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v51/Cloverbell/sebastientellier.jpg
    Sébastien Tellier @ The Mod Club (April 8th)
    February, March & April in Toronto is the best place to be. Simian Mobile Disco, Sebastian Tellier, MSTRKRFT (April 9th/guvernment), The Presets (April 6th/Mod Club), Matt and Kim, Steve Aoki and Ladytron are on my hot target. Still more to be seen including the participants of Canadian Musicfest such as Thunderheist, big tour acts like; Flight of the Concords, Lilly Allen and other wow-worthiness!! It all happened so fast...*sigh* True love at last!